Alpines @ Prince Albert, Brighton 22nd February 2017

on

p1030184

Brighton’s the Prince Albert played host to something truly exquisite. This headline show by Alpines was the final stop of the February UK Another River tour and as expected it was one spellbinding evening. Now this dazzling duo consist of both Bob Matthews and Catherine Pockson. This was actually the second time I had witnessed them perform material from Another River live and they’ve now expanded into a quartet.

p1030175

Pockson is at the forefront and her vocal tones are heavenly and Matthews provides the synth beats. Also the addition of the drums and keys gave each track that extra oomph. Anyways Alpines graced the small stage at 9.30pm and immediately launched into the first single to be lifted from Another River. Completely was a breathtaking tune, everything about it was literally faultless. Both drums and keys gave it that extra bite whilst the synths resulted in something mellowing. Catherine’s vocal tones oozed plenty of smooth soulful vibes and at the same time these sent chills down my spine. Everything about this spellbinding cut was top notch, those lyrics left me in an utter daze. Next it was time for a bit of Oasis. This number was both upbeat and this smooth which left me standing in awe over what I was hearing. Following on was Take Me To The Water and this was a breathtaking R&B jam. Pockson’s vocals were sugary sweet, those verses were vibrant and then you had the catchy chorus which packed a punch “Take Me To The Water/ Watch me dive in/ Right down to the bottom/ Where all this begins”. I even found myself moving to the beat. Catherine literally delivered this epic song to perfection and it left me completely enthralled. After plenty of applause it was then onto the sophomore albums title track. Another River was tinged with plenty of sleek R&B vibes. Those tasty lyrics had dashes of emotion as they had me picturing losing that someone special and you’ve shed enough tears you can’t cry any more “I don’t think I could cry Another River for you”. Another River had been perfectly written and Pockson’s succulent vocals had me hooked from the word go. The contagious Zero was a club friendly tune. Delivered at a fast pace, this was a captivating number which had me moving on the spot “I can’t breathe when there’s no air/ Between us/ I’ve been losing you this whole time/ What’s running now/ Without you I’ve got zero, I’ve got zero”. It was then onto something I was hearing live for the first time. This being Love And Money which literally left me in a trance. Catherine’s soulful vocals were smooth like butter oozing plenty of sass in the process. Those delectable lyrics completely compelling, the verses were sublime whilst the chorus hit me like a ton of bricks “So is it about the love/ Or is it about money/ So tell me why it is/ That you get to run by you”. 

p1030182

Motionless was a smooth down tempo electro pop cut. Catherine’s impeccable vocal tones left me mesmerised plus they made the hairs on the back of my neck stand on edge “Love is timeless/ We’re moving/ But we’re motionless”.  Infused to the ending was the upbeat Stay. Catherine’s heavenly vocal range left me in a daze and this number had well crafted. Also the perfectly delivered lyrics left me engrossed “There’s nobody makes me feel the way you make me feel/ Cause nobody makes me heal the way you make me heal”. Once over it was then time for something from the Early Hours era and this came in the form of Chances. I literally love this cut and I’ve not witnessed it live since the Oslo show way back in 2014. Anyways Chances was a chilled out song aided by succulent lyrics and a flawless vocal delivery from Catherine. Towards the end the drums came in which gave Chances that extra edge. Infact this gentle tantalising track gave me the tingles. Oldie Cocoon had been infused with En Vogue’s Don’t Let Go, both songs actually complemented each other perfectly. One over it was then onto the roller coaster ride which was Heaven. Now Pockson literally has the voice of an angel which oozed plenty of soul. My favourite part had to be the ethereal sounding middle 8. Once this spectacular number came to an end it was then time for the curtain closer. No Other Lover then capped off a wondrous evening.

SET LIST

Completely
Oasis
Take Me To The Water
Another River
Zero
Love And Money
Motionless
Stay
Chances
Cocoon/ Don’t Let Go
Heaven
No Other Lover

OVERALL: Firstly Alpines are real troubadours when it comes to songwriting. Secondly Catherine Pockson’s angelic vocal tones were simply insane. The album Another River is an utter masterpiece and it was a pleasure to witness these tunes live.

Having missed the MOTH Club show last November, it was the first time I was witnessing both Love And Money and Take Me To The Water. Actually I did witness it at Banquet but that had been stripped back as it was a two piece performance. Also the Cocoon mash up was sensational.

All in all this was one sizzling show witnessing music I adore being performed right in front of my eyes. Next week Alpines will be taking a short jaunt touring Europe and then in April they will headline London’s Omeara.

 

Leave a Reply

