Oh Wonder @ The Great Escape @ All Saints Church 19th May 2016

p1220937

Headlining the first Spotlight show at Brighton’s The Great Escape was Oh Wonder. Signed This duo are a London based synth/ Indie pop act who consist of Josephine Vander Gucht and Anthony West, plus they are currently signed to Caroline International. This was the first time I attended a gig at All Saints Church and my experience was slightly tainted as they couldn’t find my name on the Ticketweb list (all upgrades were to be picked up on the door).

Fast forward to when Oh Wonder took to the stage. This performance saw them tackle 12 tremendous tunes from their self titled debut album. Plans was included but unfortunately that was crossed out on the set list. It was Livewire which kicked things off and this was a mellowing jam with lyrics which left me completely hooked. Whist both West and Vander Gucht sang, Vander Gucht’s cute chilled out vocals were more prominent. I have to say this was extremely contagious plus the chorus was very upbeat “Oh won’t you be my Livewire?/ Make me feel like/ I’m set on fire/ Your love will take me higher and higher/ Oh won’t you be my Livewire?”. It was then straight onto Dazzle which is one of my favourite tunes from Oh Wonder. The contagious lyrics were about the glamourisation of gambling and the buzz it gives  you. The vocals were impeccable and Dazzle was a slick song which you could slow jam too. “Dazzle me, dazzle me, dazzle me with gold/ You’ll never be what you wanna be with all that money, that money”. “Brighton how we doing this evening. It’s great to be here. We’ve had a month of so this show feels super special to us” Anthony said before they launched into the next song. Lose It and this was a groovy tune with a contagious beat and sumptuous lyrics which left me hooked. It was then time for a bit of Shark. I really liked the beat to this and the lyrics were flawless albeit dark “My wave, my shark, my demon in the dark/ The blue tide pulling me under/ Or are you my soul, my heart, pull everything apart?”. Shark is in fact about destructive love and it was delivered to perfection. Whilst Vander Gucht’s vocals are prominent throughout each song, Anthony’s harmonising skills were sublime. “How you guys doing. I’m Josephine this is Anthony. It’s such a pleasure to be here playing The Great Escape. We both played this festival in other forms and other disguises” Vander Gucht humbly mentioned before delving into another song from their one and only album. Without You was very upbeat aided by stellar lyrics. It had been crafted to perfection and the vocals were out of this world. Everything about this left me completely captivated plus this was one which had me moving on the spot. Electro pop vibes flowed throughout this wondrous but infectious cut. “Cause I’m kicking up stones without you/ Can’t pick up the phone without you/ I’m a little bit lost without you/ Without you”. If I’m honest this uplifting number left me with a warm happy feeling deep inside. After an inspirational speech by Josephine t was then time for All We Do. “All we do is hide away/ All we do is, all we do is hide away/ All we do is chase the day/ All we do is, all we do is chase the day/ All we do is play it safe/ All we do is live inside a cage/ All we do is play it safe/ All we do, all we do”. I have to say this was ever so beautiful, enchanting I should say. All We Do was ballad like and Josephine’s vocals left me spellbound and I was captivated from beginning to end. Now even though this was a marvellous song what made it for me was the pleasing but infectious chorus “I’ve been upside down/ I don’t wanna be the right way round/ Can’t find paradise on the ground”. “So we’ve been away for a month and we’re pretty excited to be able to start writing our 2nd album” Anthony then mentioned to the sold out audience before they embarked onto Landslide. This was an uplifting pop song aided by phenomenal harmonizing and a heart warming message “So when you’re caught in a landslide/ I’ll be there for you, I’ll be there for you/ And in the rain, give you sunshine/ I’ll be there for you, I’ll be there for you/ And every time that you’re lonely/ Every time that you’re feeling low, you should know/ I’ll be there for you, I’ll be there for you/ I’ll be there for you, you know”. Straight after it was onto the dreamy Midnight Moon. Whilst this was wondrous stripped back electro pop there was an huskiness folk feel with West’s vocals. On the topic of vocals Vander Gucht’s were really soothing. All in all Midnight Moon was an upbeat mellowing song which captivated me. Infused to the ending was the steady paced Heart Hope which was very luscious leaving me spellbound. “We started this project about a year and a half ago. We released one song a month on Soundcloud for a year This is the first festival we’ve ever played” Josephine mentioned before they went into the first song they wrote and this being Body Gold. This tune was pure pop with a breezy chorus which you can easily sing along too “Let it go, paint my body gold/ Take our bodies higher and higher and higher/ We can go until the morning glow/ We can go higher and higher and higher”.  It was then time for the chilled out Drive and this tune has grown on me greatly. This was a pacey electro pop song with lyrics you could easily rock out to and then the verses were rather chilled “Cause loving you, loving you is too hard/ All I do, all I do’s not enough/ Loving you, loving you/ I cannot be loving you, loving you/ Loving you, loving you leaves me hurt/ All I do, all I do is get burnt/ Loving you, loving you I cannot be loving you, loving you”. The evening then came to a close with the chilled out Technicolour Beat. Now this was a joyful hypnotic tune with steady paced infectious lyrics which drew me in from the word go.

SET LIST

Livewire
Dazzle
Lose It
Shark
Without You
All We Do
Landslide
Midnight Moon
Heart Hope
Body Gold
Drive
Technicolour Beat

Leave a Reply

