Alpines @ The Waiting Room 19th April 2016

Back in April The Waiting Room played host to something special. This being a headline show by the sensational Alpines. Here they showcased material from the upcoming sophomore album Another River. Now this two piece consist of both Bob Matthews and Catherine Pockson. Also there were another two members this evening.

Anyways this was a short and sweet set consisting of 8 tunes which left me utterly spellbound. What kicked things off was the startling Completely, this being the current single and this song was a right cracker. Pockson is the voice behind Alpines and her smooth soulful vocal tones gave me the tingles. Bob then provided the instrumentation, still this cut was extremely upbeat leaving me well and truly captivated. “How you doing tonight, are you good” Catherine mentioned to the audience before they tackled Another River. This R&B flavoured cut had me picturing losing that someone special and you’ve shed enough tears you can’t cry any more “I don’t think I could cry Another River for you”. Another River had been perfectly written as those sumptuous lyrics had me hooked from the word go. Straight after it was onto a new version of Oasis tune Cocoon. “There’s a little twist in the middle” Pockson said before this succulent track. I found the new version was literally an epic song which radiated plenty of energy. Now the twist was a snippet of En Vogue’s Don’t Let Go and this infusion worked to perfection. Stay was an upbeat jam in the making. The lyrics had me falling for this number hook, line and sinker. Catherine’s heavenly vocal range left me in a daze and this number had been well pieced together.  “There’s nobody makes me feel the way you make me feel/ Cause nobody makes me heal the way you make me heal”. “Thank you so much for coming tonight. It’s so lovely to see you all” Pockson then humbly said before Motionless. Now this being a smooth down tempo electro pop cut. Catherine’s soulful vocal tones left me completely mesmerised plus they made the hairs on the back of my neck stand on edge “Love is timeless/ We’re moving/ But we’re motionless”. Once over it was then onto the roller coaster ride which was Heaven. Now Pockson literally has the voice of an angel which oozed plenty of soul. My favourite part had to be the ethereal sounding middle 8. Once this spectacular number came to an end it was then time for the curtain closer. No Other Lover capped off a wondrous evening.

SET LIST

Completely
Another River
Cocoon
Stay
Motionless
Heaven
No Other Lover

Leave a Reply

