Little Mix @ O2 Arena 27th March 2016

on

p1220275

Having purchased a ticket to The Brighton Centre show earlier on in March I then made the decision to get one for the O2 Arena. Now the Get Weird album is literally incredible and it just uplifts me whenever I hear it. Anyhow the support was provided by JAGMAC and Nathan Sykes whom both sang impressive sets. After having played a matinee show Little Mix were still sensational. The whole set was divided into four individual acts which detailed the journey to get to Club Weird. Each album had been represented with Get Weird being the more prominent.

Things kicked off with Grown which I found to be a combination of R&B meets pop. Perrie Edwards, Jesy Nelson, Leigh-Anne Pinnock and Jade Thirlwall each had their very own portion. The vocals were ever so exquisite and this slick jam left me completely captivated. Hair was about an ex lover who they wanted to get out of their hair. This punchy tune had me hooked from the word go as the lyrics were so damn contagious. DNA track Change Your Life never grows old as this was a beautiful ballad aided by mesmerising lyrics. Also the harmonising was out of this world. A.D.I.D.A.S was both slow and sultry. Leigh-Anne even had her own tasty rap. The delectable feisty Wings had anthem like vibes. Delivered to perfection it came as no surprise that plenty of people sang along.

Act 2 opened with the dub step esque Lightning which I fell for hook line and sinker. Also the whole forest setting gave it an eerie feel. DNA was spectacularly delivered and the harmonising was on point. It felt as if this was an anthem. I especially liked the middle 8 by Leigh Anne. Secret Love Song was the Change Your Life of the Get Weird record. Swimming with plenty of motion this beautiful ballad again showcased the those tight harmonies. OMG both funky and fresh resonating plenty of slick R&B vibes. The wondrous memorable lyrics left me spellbound. The medley consisted of Jump On It / Crazy In Love / Where Are Ü Now / Fester Skank / Ring The Alarm, I actually found this combination of tunes rather impressive as they had the feel good factor. Salute was incredibly feisty and Little Me is the Change Your Life on the Salute album. It conveyed a powerful message how you can be anything you want to be. Little Me was very pop and uplifting at the same time.

p1220341

Act 3 opened up with the delectable R&B tinged Move which I found to be rather refreshing. How Ya Doin? was a feisty upbeat urban jam. Even Missy Elliott made an appearance but on the massive screen. Jess Glynne penned the next tune to be featured and this being I Won’t. I must say it was incredibly enchanting and the girls put in a phenomenal performance. Actually it feels as if Jess wrote this for herself as I can clearly picture her singing it. Following on was the whimsical Love Me Like You. Oozing plenty of doo wop vibes this dreamy tune left me in a daze. Weird People hit me like a ton of bricks as it offered a powerful message. This delicious tune ended what had been a spectacular evening.

However the evening wasn’t over as the encore or act 4 consisted of 2 impeccable tunes. Before the act started the massive screen showed Little Mix singing the short ballad The Beginning. The girls then made an appearance for The End and just like The Beginning this showcased off the tight harmonies. Having been manufactured the bond that these girls share is locked tight. Basically this performance sent shivers down my spine. Once over the end was near and they went out with a bang by delivering the epic Black Magic. Consisting of intriguing lyrics which left me hooked, Black Magic was a tune that literally uplifted me. I found this to be really light and lyrics just scream out sing along.

SET LIST

Grown
Hair
Change Your Life
A.D.I.D.A.S
Wings

ACT 2

Lightning
DNA
Secret Love Song
OMG
Jump On It / Crazy In Love / Where Are Ü Now / Fester Skank / Ring The Alarm
Move
Little Me

ACT 3

Salute
How Ya Doin’?/ Hotline Bling
I Won’t
Love Me Like You
Weird People

ENCORE

The Beginning
The End
Black Magic

OVERALL: All in all this was an enjoyable evening witnessing music I well and truly adore. Little Mix were literally out of this world, each number performed was delivered to perfection. At the same time those songs mesmerise me and I cannot for the next tour.

Leave a Reply

