Broken Twin @ St John On Bethnal Green 7th May 2014

Danish born Majke Voss Romme is Broken Twin. This was to be the first time I had witnessed a Broken Twin show. I came across this band after going through the list of acts that were performing at The Great Escape. I made a list of names and when Broken Twin announced a show at St John On Bethnal Green resulted in me booking so I could cross her off my list. The venue was extremely beautiful despite the scaffolding outside. It actually reminded me of St Leonard’s in Shoreditch.

Majke was the first-ever Scandinavian artist to sign with ANTI- worldwide, joining the roster of such notables as Beth Orton, Neko Case, Tom Waits and Wilco. Regarding the set what was showcased was material from the album May. Most of the songs I was hearing for the very first time and I was literally blown away by Romme’s powerful vocal range. I guess the acoustics of the Church played a massive part. 11 tunes made up the set which turned out to be the whole new album plus there was the Johnny Thunders cover You Can’t Put Your Arms Around A Memory. Now this showcase was literally amazing. My highlights had to be the tender folk ballad Glimpse Of A Time, the haunting sad ballad which was No Darkness and I adored the hypnotic In Dreams.The Aching opened up the evening which was keyboard based with added violin. Glimpse Of A Time was a tender nostalgic folk ballad whist I found Sun Has Gone to be rather heartfelt. Roam was enchanting and No Darkness was a sad ballad. Out Of The Air is about struggling with your emotions and Romme took to the guitar for the captivating River Raining. The whimsical Soon After This was then followed by something well and truly hypnotic and this being the In Dreams/ If Pilots Go To Heaven combo. Once over they all left the floor only to return moments later for the unique take on You Can’t Put Your Arms Around A Memory.

SET LIST

The Aching
Glimpse Of A Time
Sun Has Gone
Roam
No Darkness
Out Of Air
River Raining
Soon After This
In Dreams
If Pilots Go To Heaven

ENCORE

You Can’t Put Your Arms Around A Memory

Leave a Reply

