Nina Nesbitt @ McClusky’s 20th February 2014

Nina Nesbitt has always been a favourite of mine. To mark the release of the debut album Nesbitt played an album release show at McClusky’s the home to New Slang. Two shows were announced one for Under 18’s taking place at Banquet Records and the late show taking place at McClusky’s. Due to high demand the Under 18’s was upgraded to the same venue as the overs. Now I wanted to attend both shows, well mainly the first one because I really wanted to meet Nina and have the album signed. So I purchased the CD and ticket for the instore and a separate ticket for New Slang later that evening. Come the day I arrived at McClusky’s around 3pm. Originally I was the 5th there but that changed to 12th. I couldn’t really complain because I was going to try and get into this performance knowing that I’m over 18. When the doors did open around 6.40pm they let in all the ticket holders and then anyone who was there for the evening show just to fill up space. I managed to get 2nd row and my view was great (that is the advantage of standing behind someone shorter than you).

So come 7pm Nina took to the stage which resulted in plenty of screams. What opened up the set was The Apple Tree which only featured on the deluxe. This was uber catchy and the chorus was very upbeat and was played at a fast pace “Lets go down to the apple tree, Naive as Adam & Eve, Lets go down to the apple tree, Fighting against gravity, Falling too deep, so can you catch me?”. Nesbitt is Pop meets Folk and from having listened to the record it sounds like you are listening to Amy Macdonald. “We have time to play 5 songs” Nina said before handing out a set list so the audience could choose what they wanted to hear. Nesbitt then plumped for 18 Candles despite the fact people were shouting out Stay Out. The lyrics to this tune were completely infectious and I also picked up on a Folk Rock vibe when Nina started singing this thumping tune. It was delivered to perfection and it was an audience pleaser. “This one is an acoustic track which we have never rehearsed so I’m going to play it on my own today. It’s kinda written about when I was at school trying to fit in” Nina said before showcasing Two Worlds Away. This was a special treat as Nesbitt did not play this one in the evening show. I simply adored this beautiful tune. Two Worlds Away was both gentle and tender aided by catchy emotional lyrics. Next it was then onto the title track of the album and this being the fast paced Peroxide. This number is simply amazing and it had been superbly written. When Nina Nesbitt comes to release the next single it has to be this one. Tough Luck was an angry song which sounded stunning. The pace was steady and it does take a while till the song grips onto you. The chorus was extraordinary and plenty of power oozed from it.

“This is the last track on the standard album. It’s quite a sad song. So can we have a bit of hush please” Nina said before The Hardest Part. This showcased off Nesbitt’s songwriting skills. The Hardest Part was a soft ballad which was acoustically delivered. Actually there was a dash of emotion within the lyrics. Everything went into delivering this number superbly. The penultimate song was about taking pictures of yourself. It was then time for a bit of Selfies which I was hearing live for the first time. If you have heard this before you know it is instantly catchy and it was a song which got me moving. Everything about this was amazing the lyrics and the melody were extraordinary. “We have another gig later on here at 10.30pm for over 18’s. If you want bit of a party. You’re welcome to come along” Nina said before mentioning that the next tune was about a typical night out in the UK. What ended the set was the number that everyone was shouting out and this being the contagious Stay Out. It was over before it even begun. Stay Out which features on the deluxe version of Peroxide was extremely quirky and it easily gets you moving.

SET LIST

The Apple Tree
18 Candles
Two Worlds Away
Peroxide
Tough Luck
The Hardest Part
Selfies
Stay Out

The evening show was exactly the same as the earlier on with some added songs. Things started around 10.50pm and Nina kicked off with The Apple Tree. This was extremely catchy with a luscious chorus which gets you moving. Following on was The Outcome. The band gave this tune that extra edge. I found it to be rather powerful and the actual lyrics were phenomenal. Like Tough Luck this was a Folk Rock number. “It’s not really relevant to me. Imagine you’re 16 again” Nesbitt said before 18 Candles. Again there was a Rock vibe and this was very upbeat. It was the chorus which was powerfully delivered “Now I’m 18 seeing something I’ve never seen, When I was 16 thought I knew it all, Now I’m 18 walking through the fire and it fuels me, I’ve 18 candles left to burn”. Once over it was into the next tune of the evening. “It’s about having a job in River Island and being rubbish at the job” Nesbitt then said before diving straight into Way In The World. This by far has to be one of my favourite Nina songs because it has everything. Lyrics were stellar, the melody captivates you and also this is a song which gets you moving. Plus you can picture the story to it. Way In The World was highly addictive. It was then onto the angry part of the set and this being Tough Luck. So much energy oozed from this and it has potential to become an anthem “Tough luck I said I’d be here in a month but you waited too, Only coming back ‘round because you heard I was with someone new And I was waiting here to you came back, My heart was bleeding black, It’s tough luck that I’m giving you, it’s tough luck on you”.

 

After Nina mentioned that she hoped X would be on an album at some point. This was delivered at a furious pace and Nesbitt’s vocals infused to it perfectly. Now this was extremely promising and it was well written. The lyrics were so catchy and I was left hypnotised. Peroxide was an important song as it is the title of the album. I must say this was a right cracker and upbeat at the same time. Brit Summer then followed on. Now this sounded like an anthem with lyrics that just make you want to point your finger in the air. It was stupendously delivered and went down well with the audience. Like the earlier show the final two numbers were Selfies and Stay Out. Selfies was a song you just want to sing along to and Stay Out was an ideal song to end on. If I could I would of stayed out but it had approached 11.30pm and I needed to get my bus home.

SET LIST

The Apple Tree
The Outcome
18 Candles
Way In The World
Tough Luck
X
Peroxide
Brit Summer
Selfies
Stay Out

OVERALL: This was one extraordinary evening. I think this is the only time I had attended 2 shows by the same artist. It felt like my very own Prince gig (well in the sense of seeing one show then queueing up for the next). Being able to get into the Under 18 show was amazing. I was having visions of what if they ask for ID when the venue was upgraded. But in the end some over 18’s got in just to fill up McClusky’s. The set which was sung was nice and it was great to hear the beautiful Two Worlds Away which wasn’t performed during the later show. As expected once over everyone stuck around for the signing which lasted for a good hour. Meeting Nina was great, I got my album signed and a quick picture. I remember Nina mentioned it was weird for her as she was having trouble hearing when performing on the stage. By this time I was having visions of there being a massive queue for the 9pm show. Only there wasn’t which was surprising.

Regarding the evening show it was ashame to see that there wasn’t alot of people there. Support came from Thomas J Speight who was literally incredible. My most memorable moment was when he sang Joni as an acapella plus he was in centre of the room with everyone forming a circle around him. Nina was completely faultless and the set didn’t feature anything new. I was hoping that this would be a preview of the set from the upcoming tour but it wasn’t to be. What was sung was phenomenal and it was a pleasure to hear tunes such as Way In The World, The Outcome and X again. Plus Selfies is simply stunning live. I had hoped for Mr C but I am guessing Nesbitt is saving that until she tours later in March.

Leave a Reply

