Tich @ O2 Academy Islington 13th February 2014

I arrived at O2 Islington Academy at 2pm. At the time I arrived there was 5 Tich fans already there. Thankfully I knew them as they had attended The Borderline gig last year. It was good that I turned up when I did as Ticketweb didn’t bother sending me an email saying that VIP holders had to be there by 5pm. I originally thought people with these tickets were let in 30 minutes before doors and the Meet and Greet would happen after. There was around 100 people there with VIP tickets and I was surprised to know how many they issued (these tickets sold out extremely fast). Everyone went in and once there the support was sound checking and a few minutes later Tich ran through Just One and Dumb. After it was then onto the Meet and Greet part and thankfully I did not lose my space on the barrier.

It had just gone 9pm when Tich took to the stage. The atmosphere was tense and the moment Rachel Furner took to the stage in a Black Dress the audience screamed. The epic set kicked off with Seeing Red. “Hello Tich Fans. It’s so nice to see you all” Furner then said mid song. Now Seeing Red was a power pop tune and it was one you just want to rock out to. It was uber contagious and Rachel put her heart and soul into delivering something truly spectacular.

“This is about living for today” Tich shouted out before embarking on something brand new and this was Just One. She actually gave the people who had purchased VIP tickets a little taster during the soundcheck. Now this was powerful and delivered with plenty of gusto. “One Heart, One Sun, One Life, Just One” I reckon this could be an anthem. “This song is about how things might not always be what you read in the fairytales. Eventually it turns into a fairytale” Furner then said before getting stuck into Storybook. This was extremely promising and it makes me look forward to an album. It actually went down well with the audience. Other than being contagious Storybook was very upbeat. Once over Tich made her way over to the keyboard to perform her own take on James Arthur’s Recovery. I never really got into James Arthur’s material so I cannot compare Rachel’s take to the original. All I can say was this was beautiful and delivered at a slow pace. I was left completely mesmerised and I really liked the fact this was mashed up with Little Me by Little Mix. “This song is also for my sister. I wrote this song when she was in a really horrible place. And it was horrible to see her in that place. But I believe there’s light in all of us” Furner mentioned before diving into Like Stars which features on the recent Candlelight II EP. This was rather powerful in its lyrical content. I really enjoyed the storytelling lyrics and it was especially nice to see that this tune had resurfaced but in Tich form. I originally witnessed it live back in 2011 and back then I compared it to Rihanna’s Russian Roulette. The final new song that was showcased was When It Was Beautiful. This was a super emotional ballad. In fact it even brings a tear to your eye. I must say every song Tich sings is a right corker but this tune is out of this world. Immediately after it was onto Little By Little. This was so powerful lyrically and slightly emotional. Rachel put everything into this song and this had to be my favourite from the Candlelight EP. The lyrics were emotionally charged and went out to any one who had been bullied “I know it hurts/ I know it burns/ They cut with razor blade words/ And you die a little/ Know your beautiful/ You are worth so much more/ We will rise above it all/ Little by Little”. I adored this song because I could relate it to my schooling years. After a rendition of Happy Birthday to Rachel’s dad Chris Furner it was then onto What I Meant To Say. “This song’s about arrogant people” Tich said before going straight into this tune. Now this was a number you could go mental to. What I Meant To Say had smooth verses and a quirky infectious chorus. “I wrote this because there’s no one but us” Furner said before getting stuck into No One But Us which is also the name of the tour. Now I like so many Tich songs but this is one of my many highlights as it is very different compared to the light songs such as What I Meant To Say, Dumb etc. Now this was Pop Rock and was aided by brilliant lyrics. This was a number you just want to rock out to.

“This has been incredible. London you make me have the best nights of my life” Tich then said before mentioning that as she doesn’t have a Valentine everyone in the audience can be her Valentine. Breathe In, Breathe Out was the current single and she she wrote with Nick Jonas (whom is a 1/3 of The Jonas Brothers). It was the set closer. This tune was amazing and it was sung superbly. It was quirky away and everyone was chanting away to the lyrics. Nevermind was the first number of the encore. It was very passionate tinged with a dash of emotion as Rachel was singing about heartache. It came as no surprise that people were singing word for word. Nevermind was chilled out packed with infectious lyrics and an uplifting chorus. The up tempo/ quirky Dumb was the curtain closer. The lyrics were straight to the point and you can clearly picture what she is saying in the song. If I am completely honest this I probably the showpiece as everyone was singing along to the quirky infectious lyrics.

SET LIST

Seeing Red
Just One
Storybook
Recovery/ Little Me
Like Stars
When It Was Beautiful
Little By Little
What I Meant To Say
No One But Us
Breathe In Breathe Out

ENCORE

Nevermind
Dumb

OVERALL: Tich was on fire every song which was performed was simply flawless. It was really nice to hear Just One and When It Was Beautiful live as these were completely new to me. When It Was Beautiful is definitely up there when it comes to my favourite Tich tunes.

It came as a bit of a surprise that Rachel sang neither Unkool or Obsession but I am not one to complain because what was sung made this one extraordinary night.

Leave a Reply

