Turin Brakes @ Tooting Tram & Social 17th January 2014

Back when I witnessed Kate Nash play at the Tooting Tram & Social, XFM’s John Kennedy announced that the headliner for the January installment of The Remedy would be Turin Brakes. Now I wouldn’t consider myself to be a fan but they are one to cross of the list of bands I have seen live. Prior to the performance the only song that I knew was Pain Killer. I remember I had wanted to buy the CD Ether Song which featured Pain Killer back in 2003 but didn’t in the end.

I arrive at the venue around 6.30pm. The doors actually opened on time. It was John J Presley that kicked things off at 8.30. The set was enjoyable but I was more excited to see Bat And Ball who were next on. So at 9.15 Bat And Ball took to the stage. This 5 piece consists of Abi Sinclair (vocals), Chris Sinclair (electronics), Ed Burton (drums), Jamie Coe (guitar), Harri Chambers (keyboards). The set that they performed was only 7 songs long. I would of liked to of heard more but this is a brand new group who don’t have a lot of material. They only have 1 EP to their name and that being We Prefer It Better In The Dark which was released last October. They performed the whole début EP apart from the 4th track Graze Scratch Spot. The style of the music that they sung was Pop. Think The xx or London Grammar. Bat And Ball are a band you have to look out for as they were extraordinary and each tune that was performed was a right cracker. I would have to say the highlight for me had to be the infectious and upbeat We Prefer It Better In The Dark but then you had songs such as Fortune and Trees which make me look forward to hearing the studio versions of those songs. Bat And Ball are an exciting prospect, one which I definitely want to see again.

SET LIST

Fortune
Tails
Trees
We Prefer It Better In The Dark
Unrelated
Hospital
TV

Turin Brakes are a Folk Rock band consisting of Olly Knights, Gale Paridjanian, Rob Allum and Eddie Myer. Originating from Balham this was a local gig for the 4 piece. I am not a massive Turin Brakes fan and the only reason I attended was because of nostalgia. Turin Brakes have a new album out called We Were Here and the first 4 songs which were performed were taken from that LP. It was a pleasure to witness them perform live. I should of really of YouTubed more songs by them as I only knew the one which was Pain Killer (which was actually their highest charting single peaking at #5). What was performed was a mixture of new and old material. Even though I initially knew only the 1 song, tracks such as Future Boy, Emergency 72 and Underdog became familiar when they launched into them. Turin Brakes are a phenomenal band live and have some terrific material underneath their belts. It makes me want to check out the new album We Were Here right now. Once Underdog was finished the audience wanted to hear more. We didn’t get just the 1 encore we got 2.

SET LIST

Time And Money
Guess You Heard
Dear Dad
Blindsided Again
Future Boy
Emergency 72
Pain Killer
Fishing For A Dream
Underdog (Save Me)

ENCORE 1

Long Distance

ENCORE 2

Slack

OVERALL: The Remedy is the perfect way to witness up and coming talent whom will be hot in the nearby future. It was my 3rd time and I have witnessed support bands such as Thumpers, Colour Me Wednesday and now Bat And Ball (I previously knew of Nadine Shah and The Tuts prior to attending my 1st and 2nd Remedy).

As for this evening I really enjoyed it. John J Presley was one incredibly talented guy and has some superb songs. Bat And Ball have become one of my new favourite bands that I most definitely want to see play again in the future and it was a pleasure to witness Turin Brakes perform live. Now I didn’t attend gigs back then so I have a list of bands/ artists that I would like to see and it is nice to cross Turin Brakes off that list.

By that I am not implying that I’m done with them because they are incredible. Keeping tabs on Turin Brakes is a must and it was an absolute pleasure catching them in an intimate venue.

Leave a Reply

