The Killers @ Eventim Apollo 6th November 2013

This was the first time I had attended the Hammersmith Apollo since the refurb. Now the Apollo has been renamed the Eventim Apollo. To promote their Greatest Hits Album “Direct Hits” Las Vegas based Indie Rock band The Killers announced a special one off show at this venue. Having not witnessed them perform live before this was something I would like to attend. They had already played to a sold out Wembley Stadium earlier in the year. Like the Fall Out Boy tickets I wasn’t just purchasing myself. I managed to find out Universal were having a presale if you purchased the album. Not being one for CDs I ordered my copy in hope that I will be witnessing this event. The day came and I was lucky enough to secure my tickets. I guess the whole passcode issue may of worked to my advantage (the email displayed the passcode in Upper Case but when entering the code to access the tickets it needed to be lower instead).

Fast forward to the actual gig. Now this was simply spectacular. There was no support which made the wait till they took to the stage really agonizing. But once they were they rattled through every track that featured on the greatest hits. Excluded from the set were Battle Born track Miss Atomic Bomb and the other being Just Another Girl which was a new song which featured on this compilation CD. Mind you we did get the Joy Division Cover Shadowplay, Battle Born track From Here On Out and finally we had Jenny Was A Friend Of Mine taken from Hot Fuss (I am clueless to why this single was omitted from Direct Hits). This lasted for near enough 1hr 45 minutes and the crowd literally went crazy. Plenty of energy flowed from each song which was perfectly sang and it came as no surprise I did move about from time to time. One word for this would be EPIC!! Each tune was completely infectious and you can also rock out to them. My favourite albums by The Killers have to be both Hot Fuss and Sam’s Town. It was a pleasure just to hear tunes such as Somebody Told Me, Smile Like You Mean It, Jenny Was A Friend Of Mine and Mr Brightside being performed right in front of me. Also the acoustic version of Sam’s Town track Read My Mind was amazing.

Both Spaceman and Human from the 3rd LP Day & Age were extraordinary live. Both were rather contagious and they were tunes you just want to point your finger in the air too (the same applied to the tunes which were taken from début album Hot Fuss). In all honesty Battle Born is probably the weakest album by The Killers. From Here On Out and Runaways failed to captivate me unlike what had already been performed. The new single Shot At The Night which kicked off proceedings was rather impressive and went down well with the crowd.

SET LIST

Shot At The Night
Somebody Told Me
Spaceman
The Way It Was
Smile Like You Mean It
Shadowplay
Human
For Reasons Unknown
From Here On Out
A Dustland Fairytale
Read My Mind
All These Things I’ve Done

ENCORE

Jenny Was A Friend Of Mine
When You Were Young
Mr Brightside

Leave a Reply

