Fall Out Boy @ O2 Islington Academy 5th November 2013

Getting tickets to see high profile artists/ bands will always be tricky. When you see something announced you have your heart set on it and then if you miss out you feel absolutely crushed. Now that is how I felt when Seetickets sold my tickets after I clicked the Buy now button. Since that show at Underworld in February, I did eventually see Fall Out Boy on the main stage on the last day of Reading Festival. A club show was then later announced and this was to take place at Islington Academy. I myself have never been there but I knew it was going to be like the Underworld fiasco all over again. I was hoping that tickets will go on sale through other ticket agencies. But no Seetickets got the whole allocation. The fact I missed out on pre sale did raise my stress levels come to when the tickets went on sale on Friday. Once the day came it came as no surprise that I missed out. I was yet again crushed because I wasn’t buying a ticket for myself I was getting one for my sister who is also a fan of the band. I had to leave because I had another engagement but I didn’t want to leave the computer. A friend once told me if something says No Tickets Available keep refreshing until you get the SOLD OUT sign. That was exactly what I did and I must of struck lucky because they appeared. So I clicked I wanted 2 tickets, hands shaking in complete disbelief knowing that I needed to fill in everything before time ran out. The trouble with See is that they have no timer so you don’t know how long you have and their server is always likely to crash under pressure. Thankfully I got my two tickets and then counted down the days till the actual event.

Fast forward to the actual day of the gig. I was expecting a massive queue but this wasn’t the case. Once the doors opened my sister and I managed to get 2nd row which was an achievement for a show like this. But with this being Fall Out Boy you easily got pushed around because plenty of people were getting lot in the moment and were rocking out to this spectacle.

The 20 strong song set encompassed every album by the band. 8 songs were taken from current album Save Rock And Roll, 5 from From Under The Cork Tree, 3 from Infinity On Hit, 2 from Take This To Your Grave, 1 from Folie A Deux and another 1 from the forthcoming Black Friday EP Pax Am Days. Fall Out Boy are a mixture of Pop and Punk. Each song they sang was completely infectious. Words cannot describe how amazing the set actually was. Since Reading I have been addicted to the new album and it was a right treat to hear songs such as Death Valley and Young Volcanoes live as these two weren’t performed during the Reading set. Also just witnessing Sophomore Slump Or Comeback Of The Year live was a right treat as this is my favourite song off of album From Under The Cork Tree.

As for the new tune Love, Sex, Death in all honesty I am not too sure what to make of it. This was extremely short and had already been aired on Radio 1 but it wasn’t for me. The feel of this song was Punk Rock which just didn’t do it for me.

SET LIST

The Phoenix
I Slept With Someone In Fall Out Boy And All I Got Was This Stupid Song Written About Me
A Little Less Sixteen Candles, A Little More “Touch Me”
This Ain’t A Scene, It’s An Arms Race
Alone Together
Thriller
Where Is Your Boy?
Death Valley
Sugar, We’re Goin Down
Young Volcanoes
Where Did The Party Go
Love, Sex, Death
Sophomore Slump Or Comeback Of The Year
Dance, Dance
Just One Yesterday
I Don’t Care
My Songs Know What You Did In The Dark (Light ‘Em Up)

ENCORE

Save Rock And Roll
Thnks Fr Th Mmrs
Saturday

Leave a Reply

