Helen Boulding – Crooked Tooth

Acclaimed Sheffield-born singer-songwriter Helen Boulding finally returns with her first solo material of 2013, the stunning ‘Crooked Tooth’.

Written with Gavin Clark (Clayhill, UNKLE) ‘Crooked Tooth’ was an undeniable stand out of last year’s Calling All Angels album. With its organically simplistic arrangement, harmonious-dulcet vocals and ponderous synths, ‘Crooked Tooth’ blossoms into a truly addictive pop gem, one that Helen always intended on revisiting.

‘It’s been a busy year what with having another baby and writing for other artists, but I always wanted to go back to ‘Crooked Tooth,’ it’s one of my personal favourites. Musically and lyrically,’ says Helen. ‘Perfect is not always the most attractive. But the perfect imperfections are, that’s where the substance lies and what makes us fall in love with someone, the charisma, character & chemistry. This one was inspired by my husband Ryan, he has a slightly crooked tooth, but I love it.’

In the last 12 months alone, Helen has written three songs on Joe McElderry’s Top 10 album, and is now back in the studio working on his follow up. She’s written for another X Factor star, Janet Devlin’s debut album, Passenger, Paul Van Dyke, for his upcoming new single, The Overtones, James Newman (brother of John), Radio 2 Folk Artist of the Year Bella Hardy, Ed Harcourt, Skinny Lister, Kathryn Williams, Fiona Bevan and Tim Elsenberg of Sweet Billly Pilgrim… the list in endless. She even found time to join the 10 Years of Warp films celebrations, re-scoring Shane Meadows classic Dead Man’s Shoes, live to picture at the South Bank’s BFI earlier this year.

‘Writing for others is an amazing opportunity, but it doubles my workload. Releasing my own music takes all of me, and sometimes it can be hard to give myself 100% when I’m writing for others,’ says Helen. ‘Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love writing with other artists for their projects, especially as I get to write in many genres and express different sides of me, but I’m ready to concentrate on my own career again. It feels good to be back putting my own music out there.’

My thoughts on this wondrous tune are pretty much positive. This was a slice of pop perfection and it was aided by contagious lyrics which fit to its melody perfectly. This tune was incredibly sweet plus you can pick up on the passion that radiates from her. Helen Boulding is one talented singer/ songwriter and I can quite easily listen to her all day. It was actually one of my many highlights from the recent album Calling All Angels.

Crooked Tooth is released 16th December

Leave a Reply

