iTunes Festival – Jake Bugg @ Roundhouse 10th September 2013

I was very fortunate with the iTunes Festival this year. This being the fact that I won tickets for 6 events (7 if you include Phoenix which was cancelled due to the lead singer unable to travel due to illness). Now I am not a massive fan of Jake Bugg but I have heard good things about him plus Bugg was set to play 3 nights at O2 Academy Brixton. If I am being honest it was the one I least wanted to win as when I heard the début album (as I was planning on catching him at Reading) I was left disappointed. So when the day came I arrived around 1pm. Why I was there 5 hours before doors was down to the fact that I wanted to be on the barrier and come when the doors opened that was exactly what happened.

I was in fact surprised by how much I enjoyed this performance. Jake Bugg is better live than on record. It was the same as Palma Violets when there live performances ooze plenty of energy whist the record is completely different. The set that Jake played consisted of 11 songs from the debut self titled album, a Neil Young cover and 3 from the forthcoming sophomore album Shangri La. The style of the music that Jake played was Indie Folk I also picked up on a Country vibe as well. All the tracks performed were fantastic and the Neil Young cover of My My, Hey Hey was quite something.

Also the three new tracks Me and You, Kingpin and Slumville Slumrise showcase plenty of promise of what to expect from the 2nd album and I for one look forward to getting my hands on a copy.

SET LIST

Fire
Trouble Town
Seen It All
Simple As This
Ballad Of Mr Jones
Country Song
Broken
Someplace
Me And You
Two Fingers
Kingpin
Slumville Sunrise
Taste It
I See Her Cryin’
My My, Hey Hey (Out of the Blue) (Neil Young cover)
Lightning Bolt

OVERALL: Even though I really enjoyed the performance by Jake Bugg I wouldn’t go to see him again. Yes he was amazing live but he wont be playing at venues as intimate as the Roundhouse. Also the fact he sold out 3 nights at Brixton makes me think he is ready for the Eventim Apollo or Alexandra Palace. Now if he performed a one off intimate gig then I would be there 100%.

Now it is a different question when it comes to Valerie June. Now June hailed from Memphis, Tennessee and what was showcased was material from the album Pushin’ Against A Stone. The style of the music performed was Roots/ Country which went down an absolute treat. I was simply left captivated and transfixed over what I was witnessing.

Valerie is back in the UK at the end of November and has already sold out the Islington Assembly Hall. I will most definitely see her again in the future.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Laura Jones says:

    I really enjoyed reading this, thank you.

Leave a Reply

