iTunes Festival – Arctic Monkeys @ Roundhouse 9th September 2013

Just the thought of seeing Arctic Monkeys excited me greatly. I gave the +1 to my sister as she wanted to see the band play. I had been a fan since the very start when they released I Bet You Look Good On The Dancefloor and I was looking forward to seeing them in such an intimate setting. I got there around noon and I noticed that there was a queue of people. To my surprise that was for standby. I was the first one there!!

Fast forward to the actual gig. Drenge had finished playing and everyone was anticipating the Arctic Monkeys. You could see this as an album release show as AM had just came out. 20 songs were sung and 7 came from AM, 5 from Favourite Worst Nightmare, 3 from Humbug and Suck It And See and 2 from Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not. I have to say Alex Turner knew how to get the crowd moving.

It was actually a rip roaring set which really got going when they launched into a blistering version of Brianstorm which was then followed up by Dancing Shoes. There were two special guests these being Bill Ryder-Jones who joined them for AM track Fireside then you had Miles Kane who appeared for 505. Out of the new songs which were sung I have to say that Snap Out Of It was my favourite. It is one that gets you moving. Come to think about it all of the songs make you want to jump up and down.

All in all I highly enjoyed this set. I was actually sad that I wasn’t seeing them at Earls Court in October but just the fact I was dead centre right in front of Alex Turner was one that I wont forget. Pushing and crushing was not that bad as I wasn’t pushed out my spot. Yes it did get a bit tight and by the end of the set I was standing but at a slant making it look like I was going to topple over.

SET LIST

Do I Wanna Know?
Brianstorm
Dancing Shoes
Don’t Sit Down ‘Cause I’ve Moved Your Chair
Teddy Picker
Crying Lightning
Snap Out Of It
Brick by Brick
Old Yellow Bricks
Fireside (w/ Bill Ryder-Jones)
Arabella
Pretty Visitors
I Bet You Look Good On The Dancefloor
One For The Road
Cornerstone
Fluorescent Adolescent
Why’d You Only Call Me When You’re High?
R U Mine?

ENCORE:

Suck It And See
505 (w/ Miles Kane)

Leave a Reply

