Reading Festival 2013: Day Two – 24th August 2013

Originally I wanted to get to the Festival site for Sons & Lovers whom were first on the Festival Republic stage and the artist that followed was Dan Croll who I was going to see in September when he would support Haim on their iTunes Festival headline show. With the fact it looked grim outside my sister and I decided to leave later. When I got to the entrance gate I made my way straight to the Festival Republic stage for both Swim Deep and The 1975 who were on one after another. Once there Skaters were finishing up then I had to witness a short set by Drenge. After having witnessed them earlier on in the year supporting Deap Vally I didn’t find myself connecting with the music.

Swim Deep are an Indie Rock 4 piece who come from the West Midlands. The songs which were performed was rather enjoyable. Songs such as Francisco, Red Lips I Know, a fun cover of Cyndi Lauper’s Girls Just Want To Have Fun, Honey and King City featured in the set. Whilst what was performed was incredible I found myself not being able to get captivated by the songs. The highlights for me were the cover of Girls Just Want To Have Fun and the infectious King City which closed the set. This is a band that I would like to see again sometime in the future.

4 piece Mancunian band The 1975 are fronted by Matthew Healy. They have been active since 2002 but it was 2012 when they started releasing music as The 1975. Facedown was the début EP and that was then followed by 3 more EP’s Sex, Music For Cars and IV. Basically their popularity has literally sky rocketed. A 2014 tour has been announced and they have already sold out Brixton Academy. It kind of makes me happy that I witnessed them play at The Borderline earlier on this year. Once the line up to Reading was announced The 1975 were always a band that made the cut. The fact they were on straight after Swim Deep was a mere coincidence. What was played was roughly a 40 minute set consisting of 8 songs which feature on the forthcoming self titled LP. The only two which don’t feature are Heads Cars Bending which appears on the Music For Cars LP and then you have Milk which is a hidden track on the Sex EP. The 1975 are Indie Pop with a dash of Rock added into the mix. Each tune sung was sheer brilliance and extremely infectious as well. Now the album hadn’t been released and brand new single Girls basically whetted my appetite. It also gets me excited at the prospect of having the album in my hands. Even though I thoroughly enjoyed this set my stand out tracks still have to be both Chocolate and Sex.

SET LIST

Heads Cars Bending
Milk
Settle Down
Girls
Robbers
Chocolate
Sex
You

Headlining the second day at Reading was the one and only Eminem. I must say he was one of the acts that made me want to purchase a ticket for the whole weekend. Previously I had witnessed Marshall perform at V Festival but right at the back. Just the thought of witnessing him perform live again was something I was rather relishing. The whole of main stage was packed to the rafters (maybe it was down to the fact Eminem doesn’t come here that often). What was sung was basically greatest hits packed and also showcased was a brand new song and this was Survival. The biggest surprise being the fact Dido accompanied Mathers when he sang Stan.

I thoroughly enjoyed this set and I wish I could go back in time and experience it again. The only drawback of this set was the fact not all of the songs were the actual studio version of the track in question. For example you had Business followed by Kill You, there was The Real Slim Shady which was infused to My Name Is and then you had Like Toy Soldiers along with Forever. I remember seeing a set list for one of the shows Slim had done in the UK which showed the fact he was singing just 1 verse and 1 chorus. Yes it may be short but it meant he could cram more into the performance.

You then have the whole debate of the fact Eminem was not performing live and I my opinion is that it’s complete utter nonsense. There is no way Mathers would resort to that and just witnessing his set I could see he put every ounce of energy into it.

SET LIST

Survival
Won’t Back Down
3 a.m.
Square Dance
Business
Kill You
White America
Mosh
No Love
Just Don’t Give a Fuck
Criminal
Cleanin’ Out My Closet / The Way I am
Fast Lane (Bad Meets Evil cover)
Lighters (Bad Meets Evil cover)
Airplanes, Part II (B.o.B cover)
Stan (w/ Dido)
Sing For The Moment
Like Toy Soldiers
Forever
‘Till I Collapse
Cinderella Man
Love the Way You Lie
My Name Is / The Real Slim Shady / Without Me
Not Afraid

ENCORE

Lose Yourself

Leave a Reply

