Birdy – Fire Within Tracklisting & Wings Preview

Critically-acclaimed British singer/songwriter Birdy is set to release her new album Fire Within on the 14th Floor/ Alantic Records imprint on 23rd September. She recently previewed a taster of two brand new tracks from the studio on her website, one of which is her upcoming single ‘Wings’, out on September 8.

Birdy (Lymington born Jasmine van den Bogaerde) commented – “It’s been an incredible few years since I released my debut album back in 2011. I’ve been writing new songs and I’m so excited for people to hear them. They come straight from my heart.”

In this new phase her fans will see Birdy come to the forefront as a songwriter in her own right, having written/co-written all of the 11 tracks on the new album. Over the past year, Birdy’s been in the studio collaborating with some of the biggest names in the business including Ryan Tedder (Beyoncé), Dan Wilson (co-wrote and produced ‘Someone Like You’ for Adele), Rich Costey (Muse, Arctic Monkeys, Sigur Ros) and Ben Lovett from Mumford & Sons, whom she’s collaborated with in the past. She’s also worked with some amazing musicians including Rage Against the Machine bass player Timmy C and Paul Jackson Jnr and Omar Hakim (Daft Punk’s band on latest album Random Access Memories). The Album also sees Birdy expanding on her already amazing musical abilities by taking on the role of guitarist in both the recording sessions and live performances.

New tracks such as ‘Wings’ and ‘No Angel’ see Birdy explore familiar themes of love and passion. It’s also a statement of intent as demonstrated in the lyrics to ‘No Angel’: “I ain’t no angel, I never was.” She’s not a little girl anymore. She’s an assured artist with something to say and even the album title Fire Within showcases her burning desire to create music for fans around the world to enjoy. As well as the introspective piano ballads that she’s known for, her audience will be pleasantly surprised to hear new tracks such as the upbeat ‘Light Me Up’. Once the world hears her 11-track offering, they’ll be wowed by Birdy’s new sound.

Album tracklisting

1 Wings
2 Heart of Gold
3 Light Me Up
4 Words as Weapons
5 All You Never Say
6 Strange Birds
7 Maybe
8 No Angel
9 All About You
10 Standing In The Way of The Light
11 Shine

12 The Same
13 Dream
14 Older
15 Home

At the tender age of just 17, Birdy is an exceptional talent. The debut album Birdy was incredible and I am positive that Fire Within will be fantastic. Now I got the chance to hear the brand new single Wings before its release date of 8th September. This song is simply superb. There is the combination of Folk meets Pop aided luscious vocals. Wings is a light, fluffy, easy listening song which you will fall in love with straight away. Wings is one addictive song which will make you hit the repeat button when you hear it the first time. Jasmine’s vocals are ever so angelic and quite entrancing at the same time.

What I most liked about this was the fact it was origial material. The new album follows the same suit as well. The self titled LP was a right cracker but it was full of covers (one song on that album was an original). Fire Within showcases her song writing skills and just by hearing Wings makes me anticipate hearing the record for the first time.

Official website





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s