Beady Eye @ McClusky’s 7th June 2013

Paying a visit to McClusky’s nightclub in Kingston was Beady Eye. Back in 2009 this group was formed after the disbandment of Oasis. Both Liam and Noel then pursued their own individual projects which resulted in Liam forming Beady Eye. This 5 piece band also consists of ex Oasis members Gem Archer and Andy Bell. The moment Banquet Records confirmed that the surprise band were Beady Eye I purchased my ticket along with the BE vinyl straight away. This was the first time I saw them live despite me being a fan of their music.

The day finally came and I decided on getting there early because I thought with it being such a well known band there will be people queuing early. In fact my theory turned out to be wrong as I was waiting 2 hours by myself after having got there around 12.30pm. It felt like forever when doors did eventually open at 8.15pm. This was to be a stripped back set and I was fully expecting at least 6 songs spanning 30 minutes. So once I reached the barrier the set lists were scattered around the stage and I was stunned to see 11 songs which were listed (10 of which appear on the brand new album). I had been listening to BE on repeat prior to the gig and there are some really good tunes on it, there are a couple that stand out and have the potential to become future singles.

“You alright” Liam Gallagher said before the evening opened up with Second Bite Of The Apple. This was the 2nd single taken from the sophomore album BE. Now I rather liked this song, it was really infectious with lyrics you can sing along to “Shake my tree where’s the apple for me/ Tickle my feet with the NME/ No point laughing if you don’t know why/ I phone my love just to hear her smile”. This take on this track sounded rather laid back as it was fully acoustic and it was rather nice just to experience something different. Soul Love was next and this was a stand out track for me and it is one of the few that I reckon would make a fantastic single. Plenty of singing along word for word followed on. “Get up off your knees my friend, promise never to pretend you’re the apple of my eye, spread your wings and learn to fly”. This had been written by Gallagher and it was a right cracker. It was then onto Iz Rite which was written by Gem Archer and it was a number which gets better the more times you hear it. After hearing it on the album stream I found it to be highly contagious. Just hearing it live was quite something. The fact it was fully acoustic puts a different spin on BE and it worked wonders. Iz Rite was superbly delivered and there were shades of Oasis songs Liam sang in the past. Soon Come Tomorrow was s chilled out tune with luscious melodies. It was contagious as well with stunning verses and a superb light chorus you will find yourself singing along to. What followed on was Start Anew. This being another song Liam Gallagher had written and there was plenty of cheers and singing along to it. Start Anew is the closing number on BE and what a track it was live. I’m Just Saying was a upbeat banging track with exquisite lyrics which will get you singing along. I cannot wait to hear this one performed live as a whole band.

The tender Don’t Brother Me was actually about brother Noel. The lyrics tell the story “I know I’m a man, I’ll do what I can/Sick of your scheming and lying/ I’m always in the sun with your number one/ You know I’m a man, I’ll do what I can/ Give peace a chance, take my hand/Be a man. All or nothing/ I’ll keep pushing. In the morning, I’ll keep calling/And hope you understand”. Along with Soul Love and Soon Come Tomorrow this number is another favourite of mine. It was then onto a cover and this being Cry Baby Cry which was originally by The Beatles. This was delivered superbly and it was upbeat as well. Ballroom Figured was a nice impressive and delicate ballad. I really liked the lyrics that were sung during this song. “Did you ever loan me that song? Did you ever know me at all? We listened to the world going round, looking through a hole in the wall”. The penultimate song was Shine A Light and this went down well with the audience who participated with singing the la las. “This is the last one I guess” Liam said to the audience before ending with the phenomenal Flick Of The Finger which oozed bundles of energy. There was even someone surfing the crowd during the set closer.

SET LIST

Second Bite Of The Apple
Soul Love
Iz Rite
Soon Come Tomorrow
Start Anew
I’m Just Saying
Don’t Brother Me
Cry Baby Cry
Ballroom Figured
Shine A Light
Flick Of The Finger

OVERALL: I rather enjoyed this evening witnessing stunning music being performed live in front of my eyes. It was also a nice treat just to hear Beady Eye play acoustically as that is something that rarely happens. I was actually surprised when I had a glance at the set list. I was expecting around 6/7 songs not the entire new album bar Face The Crowd.

As for the new LP BE. It is a right cracker, it’s packed with phenomenal tunes which will get you hooked. Other than Second Bite Of The Apple and Flick Of The Finger my favourites had to be Soon Come Tomorrow and Don’t Brother Me. Plus their cover of Cry Baby Cry was really amazing.

Leave a Reply

