Haim @ Heaven 28th May 2013

Originally this Haim show was due to take place in April but with the fact that they wanted to focus on the new album the date was then rescheduled. The new date at Heaven was 28th May. So this gig which was supposed to be the first stop back in April was now the penultimate UK date. Haim at Heaven proved to be an instant sellout and this then led to the Koko show being announced for the end of May. But with the postponement extra tickets were released nearer the event. I guess not everyone was able to make May 28th.

Being a massive Haim fan I was always going to attend this. So I turned up about 3 hours before doors and I was the first there till about 5.30pm. I did slightly misjudge it but with the fact it was half term you cannot be sure. Doors opened promptly at 7pm and then I walked at a fast pace going through the last arch inside to get to the front barrier. It was then a 30 minute wait till the first act took to the stage and this being Kimberly Anne. Now I enjoyed the music that she played and I definitely would like to see her play again in the future. The second on the night were 4 piece Scottish group Holy Esque. I must admit they were talented guys but I could not take to the music that they were playing.

Taking to the stage around about 9.40 were the band that everyone was anticipating. The set opened up with Better Off. This was an incredible song to open up with. Better Off appeared on the Forever EP last year. The vocals were rather sweet and even though the vocals were provided by Danielle the harmonising by both Alana and Este were flawless. I found this tune to be really hypnotic and the chorus was extremely infectious “’Cause I’m better off this time so not this time/ No not baby not this time around/ Oh I’m better off this time so not this time/ ‘Cause I found out yeah, I found out now”. Better Off was delivered with plenty of gusto. Straight after it was onto The Wire. This was an epic song which sounded phenomenal. There was a rock vibe to it with addition of excellent vocals which were delivered to perfection. I really liked the melody of this tune plus its infectious verses/ chorus. The opening chords to this track always remind me of Everybody Wants To Rule The World by Tears For Fears. Each sister had their fair share of the lead vocals. “It feels good to be home” Este Haim then said before taking off her jacket. “Sissy will you help me? That’s what little sisters are for. To do the shit you don’t wanna do” Este then said to Danielle. It was then onto Honey And I which did get a few whoops of delight. This was a song which had excellent harmonies and its opening reminded me of Remember When by Irish band Heathers. This number was stunning and it makes me look forward to the upcoming album. I also found its lyrics utterly contagious. “We’ve never played a show with you guys so far away” Danielle Haim then said to the packed out crowd. “Maybe by the end of the night we’ll feel each other a little closer” Este went onto say. “This is the part of the set that we like to jam” Danielle then said before launching into Fleetwood Mac cover Oh Well. This riff heavy song saw Alana Haim take the lead for its superb short verses. Haim definitely put there own stamp onto this song. Oh Well was in fact an infuriating song which oozed plenty of energy. Following on was the newest single by the band and this being Falling. This was delivered at a smooth pace. Vocally it was extremely powerful and infectious at the same time. My favourite part had to be its upbeat chorus “Don’t stop, I’ll never give up/ And I’ll never look back, just hold your head up/ And if it gets rough, it’s time to get rough/ They keep saying/ Don’t stop, no one’s ever enough/ I’ll never look back, never give up/ And if it gets rough, it’s time to get rough/ But now I’m falling”.

“Now we’re going to slow it down a little bit” Danielle Haim then said before urging the lights to be turned down. “So now some babies are going to get made” Este said when the stage was pitch black. “Now I can’t see anything” Alana then went onto say resulting it there being blue mood lighting. It was then onto Go Slow. This was a mellowing number which sounded entrancing. Each of the girls took the lead for parts of the song. The harmonies were luscious. “The next song we’re going to do we’ve only done once live. So we’ll see what happens. It will be a learning experience for all of us. We’re all in this together right?” Danielle mentioned to the crowd before they started to play Send Me Down. I am so surprised that this only was released as a B Side. This number was extremely infectious and it went down well with the crowd. I found the lyrics to be dreamy and it was very pop as well aided by electric guitar and drums. After some talk about Este getting all the love as she gave her phone number out live on the iTunes Festival last year it was then onto Don’t Save Me. This was delivered at a fast pace and its infectious lyrics gelled to the melody perfectly. “Thank you guys for being so cool” Este Haim said to the crowd. “This next song is what kind of brought us here a year ago” Danielle then went onto say before the closing number of the evening and this being Forever. This tune had lyrics which you just want to sing and dance along to. Forever was a breezy and cheerful song which was ever so entrancing. It was also a slice of synth pop and the melody was very hypnotic. The three sisters then left the stage only to return moments for the encore. “It’s so good to be back in London” Danielle told the crowd before they ended a phenomenal set with Let Me Go. This was one epic tune which was exciting. Nearing the end the 3 sisters took to the drums and delivered a flawless performance of this song.

SET LIST

Better Off
The Wire
Honey And I
Oh Well
Falling
Go Slow
Send Me Down
Don’t Save Me
Forever

ENCORE

Let Me Go

OVERALL: Haim at Heaven was always going to be a spectacular gig. The set that they played was over in a flash. Maybe that is down to the fact that I enjoyed it so much. Haim have something that hooks me and make me want to attend more than one of their shows. The songs that they come up with are both catchy and well written for starters.

The only gripe I have with Heaven was the lighting was atrocious. At times you could not even make out the bands faces. I wasn’t even fussed about the high stage. I know the next Haim show was at Koko but my question is where will they play when they tour the album? My bet is on Shepherd’s Bush Empire.

Leave a Reply

