Ellie Goulding @ Bush Hall 21st March 2013

Headlining at Bush Hall was the one and only Ellie Goulding. This was her only date in the capital as the current leg of the Halcyon Days tour did not feature another jaunt of the UK. Tickets for this were issued via a competition on the HP Connected page. I was lucky enough to get a ticket for this and I was especially pleased as I wouldn’t be seeing Goulding this year as her only UK appearance is at V Festival.

After a set by Sons and Lovers it was then onto Ellie G. Opening up the set was Don’t Say A Word. I found it to be a sweet sounding song which progressed into something utterly amazing. Don’t Say A Word was a powerful song and it had some rather beautiful lyrics. My favourite part had to its middle 8. “Good evening everyone” Goulding said to the intimate audience before embarking on the latest single I Need Your Love. This is a club friendly song and it is one you can have a good dance too. It is the 7th single to be lifted from the Calvin Harris album 18 Months. This was the first time I had witnessed it live. “Hi everyone. Thanks for coming. It’s really nice to be back in London. I don’t get to be here much anymore which makes me sad” Ellie said to the audience before Figure 8. This immediately stood out and had impeccable lyrics which ooze plenty energy. Its chorus was packed with a punch “I chased your love around a figure 8, I need you more than I can take, You promised forever and a day, And then you take it all away”. This had to be my favourite song of the evening as it was infectious and you just want to sing along to it. “Where did Gouldiggers come from? I still haven’t figured that out. It’s alright I quite like it” Ellie said before diving into the first song she wrote for Halcyon and this being the beautiful Explosions. This was an emotional ballad which has been featured on the ITV commercials. Explosions was a steady paced song which had some impeccable lyrics. “This is a lovely little place. It’s really intimate. This is a cover that I did. It’s an Elton John song that I stole” Goulding then mentioned before her take on Your Song. Chris Ketley was on keys for this beautiful ballad. It was no surprise that everyone sang along to this. Ellie made this her own and there was a dash of passion from her vocals. My Blood was next up and this is actually Ellie’s favourite song from Halcyon. This was a stunning tune and you understand why it is Goulding’s favourite. My Blood was a beautiful ballad with a catchy hook and a sombre melody. Only You followed on. This tune easily gets you moving and the lyrics were really catchy. It also sounded like a chipmunk is singing parts of this number. Once over Goulding was frantically banging her drumskin that was in front of her. “I know it’s quite a small crowd. I wonder if I can get some people jumping. I bet I can” Ellie said before the pleasing Anything Could Happen. There was an electro pop vibe to this infectious song. Like Goulding said it is one you want to jump up and down to. Anything Could Happen was an uplifting song aided by lyrics that people sang along to. “You guys are really lovely. I wasn’t sure what this was going to be like. It’s honestly so good to be home I can’t tell you. I’m never home and this is a delight” Ellie said before the first Lights track of the evening and this being the iTunes bonus track Lights. This was delivered strongly and it was infectious at the same time. “I can’t believe how quickly it went” Goulding said before ending the night with the expected Starry Eyed. This tune oozed plenty of energy and has infectious verses and a powerful/ killer chorus. Once over the band left the stage. Many people hoped for an encore which never came. Even though the set was short and sweet it was enough for me.

SET LIST

Don’t Say A Word
I Need Your Love
Figure 8
Explosions
Your Song
My Blood
Only You
Anything Could Happen
Lights
Starry Eyed

Leave a Reply

