Truly Ford @ The George And Vulture 6th February 2013

After witnessing Veronica Falls play an outstanding set it was then off to The George And Vulture a place I have never been to before. The fact both places were near one another was a bonus. The artist who I wanted to see was Truly Ford. She impressed me so much I wanted to hear more. “My name’s Truly Ford. I hope you enjoy” Ford said opening up with her take on Girl With One Eye which featured on the début album by Florence and the Machine. She made this song her own and that is a hard feat to pull off when covering a song by an artist who is massive. Just hearing Truly’s take on it left me speechless. The vocals were extremely powerful and you knew that Ford was giving it her all. It was then onto Bastille cover Flaws. I really enjoyed this song and Truly has the ability of making any cover her own. I simply loved this song. When I attended The Luxe on Sunday 3rd February I could see traces of Amy Macdonald but now I was picking up on traces of Lana Del Rey. This take on Flaws was literally spectacular and basically Truly Ford could cover anything and make it her own. “I’m going to play a song that’s very new” Ford said before performing Noah live for the first time. This song was delivered to perfection. Noah had been superbly written and was aided by strong pitch perfect vocals. Considering it was the first time that it had been performed live Truly managed to breeze through it without a hitch. It was then onto the final song of the set and this being another original which will feature on the SuperNova EP. This being Tiger’s Eyes which has been played on BBC Oxford. All of Truly’s tracks fit in the Folk genre. Tiger’s Eyes and Noah which was performed prior showcased her extraordinary song writing skills and there is no doubt in my mind that she will be the next big thing. Tiger’s Eyes was delivered with plenty of gusto and I could also see traces of Florence Welch and Laura Marling.

SET LIST

Girl With One Eye
Flaws
Noah
Tiger’s Eyes

OVERALL: Just like The Luxe this short set at The George And Vulture was simply spectacular. Only 4 songs were sung this evening but this was enough to satisfy me. Truly Ford has something incredibly special and I know that she can go real far in the music industry. I am looking forward to having the SuperNova EP on my iPod when that is released. What I liked the most is the genre of music is one that I enjoy and Truly puts everything into everyone of her originals/ cover versions.

Leave a Reply

