Beth Orton @ St George’s Church 30th November 2012

This was the 1st time I had witnessed Beth Orton live and from the material showcased I am sure it won’t be the last. The headline gig was taking place at Brighton’s St George’s Church which is basically located in the middle of nowhere (well Kemp Town to be precise). It takes around 40 minutes to walk to the venue from the station, I booked this on a whim, the fact I couldn’t make the Union Chapel show ended up with me booking the Brighton date. Prior to me booking a ticket I had heard no material by Orton whatsoever. It was a risky decision I know but when you have a friend whom is a fan is a good sign. I then started to listen to Beth’s latest cut and this being Sugaring Season and I really liked what I heard.

The style of the music that she sings is Folk and the set that she performed mainly showcased material from 5th LP Sugaring Season plus some oldies were thrown in for good measure. What I witnessed was something I really enjoyed. Nearly all the old songs from prior albums which Beth played I was hearing them for the 1st time. These songs were incredible and captivated me immediately. For some of these tunes Beth was accompanied by her husband Sam Amidon who was a nice addition.

SET LIST

Magpie
State Of Grace
Last Leaves Of Autumn
She Cries Your Name
Central Reservation
Something More Beautiful
Mystery
Poison Tree
Safe In Your Arms
Shopping Trolley
Concrete Sky
Call Me The Breeze
Dawn Chorus
Candles

ENCORE

Sweetest Decline
Feel To Believe

OVERALL: This evening was both incredible and enchanting. I was left hypnotised by Beth’s performance. I enjoyed every single track that was performed. As I am a fan of the Folk genre the material that was showcased went down a treat. Other than the brand new songs I enjoyed the old ones such as Sweetest Decline and Central Reservation. I was actually reminded of Laura Marling.

Would I see Beth again? I certainly would.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

