Spector @ The Fighting Cocks 15th August 2012

Spector are a five-piece indie rock band from London,which comprise of Frederick Macpherson (vocals), Christopher Burman (guitar), Thomas Shickle (bass), Jed Cullen (synth, guitar) and Danny Blandy (drums). This instore was to celebrate the release of the anticipated album Enjoy It While It Lasts and it took place at Kington’s Banquet Records. Well it was meant to be played in the shop but due to being a popular event it was upgrade to The Fighting Cocks pub just down the road. This was a matinee show and the show started at 1.30pm. I had never attended The Fighting Cocks before and I was extremely impressed by how intimate it actually was. Doors opened at 1.15pm and the small dark room then gradually started to fill up. I would say there were a little over 100 people watching this fantastic indie rock band in this lovely setting.

“Good morning Kingston. We are Spector of London, England. This is a song called Friday Night, Don’t Ever Let It End” Macpherson said introducing the song which was to open this brilliant 6 song set. Friday Night, Don’t Ever Let It End had a furious pace and its lyrics were very catchy. I could pick up on traces of both Brandon Flowers and The Vaccines. Fred put every ounce of energy into the delivery of this song. “Thank you Kingston. Thank you Greater London. This is a song off of our album which is out this week. I’m sure you all bought a copy. Maybe multiple copies if you’re a real fan. We’re going to be signing some after the show” Fred then said before Twenty Nothing. Its verses were sung at a steady pace whilst the chorus was powerful and plenty of people joined in. I really liked its middle 8. “Let me say this. Let me speak for one second please. This is about as intimate as a Spector show gets at the moment. Despite what’s advertised on Tom Shickle’s website. It’s a real opportunity to share this intimacy and by intimacy I’m not referring to Bloc Party’s 3rd album. I’m referring to the feeling that we’re sharing together now. I always hope that on the Wednesday of the week of our album release come 1.35pm I would be in a dark in Kingston surrounded by young people, some of which that are wearing replica versions of my glasses” Macpherson said before launching into the next song of the set and this being Celestine. This number was very sleek and also the instruments played (guitar, drums) gave it that extra energetic edge. I must say the chorus was rather contagious and it had a furious pace. “Whose on there Summer holidays at the moment? Let me say this if nothing more. 6 weeks with nothing to do except sit around, watch a bit of TV, call your mates, go down the shopping centre, have a laugh there’s nothing like it. This is good as it gets. It’s a one off opportunity to just kick back. This is the 1st song on our album. We’ve only played it a couple of times and every time we played it we’ve BEEPED it up. So I want to apologise in advance because it’s very possible we’ll BEEP it up again. But with your help and the vibe in the room that I can feel between us is moist and excitable” Macpherson then said before True Love (For Now). Considering they hadn’t played it much this was a blitzing performance of it. At first it stated of gentle and then the rest of the band came in to give it that extra oomph. It was in fact entrancing and rather beautiful. “There’s a good way telling apart who bought the album and know it well. And those who haven’t bought the album and I’m never going to look in the eye again. Enjoy this as a gift from Spector to the people of Kingston as a representation of a new found friendship between us one of the greatest rock bands of August 2012 UK based. And you one of the top 15 suburbs in Greater London West” Fred mentioned before Chevy Thunder. I would have to say this song was extremely popular considering the audience atmosphere was electric. There was even a mosh pit of fans at the back who wanted to get to the front. Chevy Thunder was a high octane song with superb singable lyrics. Judging by the number of times I have seen them live this song has to be the crown jewel on album Enjoy It While It Lasts. “We have 1 more song left for you today then we’re going to sign some CD’s, records, bits of paper. A lot of kids come up to me and they say Hey I didn’t buy your CD, can I get an autograph anyway. No is the answer. I’m joking, I’ll give you an autograph but not this week. This is a song you love to love and hate to hate. It’s very good, I wrote it myself” Macpherson said to the audience before signing off with Never Fade Away. Now this tune was extremely beautiful and it rather swooning. You feel inclined to move your hands from side to side. Or use a lighter and move that from side to side. This is an indie ballad with lovely lyrics plus it was very fitting because Spector will never fade away. Like Chevy Thunder this song turned out to be a massive sing song.

SET LIST

Friday Night, Don’t Ever Let It End
Twenty Nothing
Celestine
True Love (For Now)
Chevy Thunder
Never Fade Away

OVERALL: Even though this was built as an album release show it wasn’t. Instead it was a short set which consisted of 6 songs from the début album. What was showcased was completely flawless. Spector are a band that can go places plus they have amazing tunes that you will fall in love with. Also you will fall in love with Fred Macpherson’s wit. Some of the things he says can be utterly hilarious. I’m pleased I had the chance to witness this. The Fighting Cocks is probably the most intimate Spector show I have attended to date and I fully expect they wont be playing to an audience smaller.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Terri Watson says:

    This was my first experience of Spector live and my first experience of The Fighting Cocks as a gig venue..I was not disappointed. Great to see the album chart at no.12. There is not a bad track..very anthemic.Can’t think of many better ways to spend a day than hearing a good band play live.

    1. Planet Music says:

      Fully agree with what you said there 😀

Leave a Reply

