Ones To Watch: Katzenjammer

Formed in 2005 are Norwegian 4 piece girl group Katzenjammer. This band consist of Anne Marit Bergheim, Marianne Sveen, Solveig Heilo and Turid Jørgensen. I had the pleasure of seeing these girls perform for HMV Next Big Thing at The Borderline at the beginning of February and I was really impressed with the music that was showcased that evening.

The genre of the music is Folk meets Country and the songs that they have under their belt completely captivate me. Even though they have just come on my radar I can tell that this quartet have an extremely bright future in front of them. The members chose their band’s name to be ‘Katzenjammer’, after the oldest comic strip continually in syndication  this being the Katzenjammer Kids. They chose this comic strip because they noticed that they resembled the characters in it. Katzenjammer is also a German  for Cat’s wail.

Début album Le Pop was released in England 24th August 2009 on Nettwerk. This featured fantastic songs such as A Bar In Amsterdam, Mother Superior and Ain’t No Thing. Plus a magnitude of different instruments were played on this record. It is definitely one to check out.

7th May 2012 sees the release of the 2nd Katzenjammer album. A Kiss Before You Go is a right cracker every track featured is complete perfection. I love every single song but ones that stand out for me are the infectious I Will Dance (When I Walk Away), the luscious Cocktails and Ruby Slippers and the incredible Rock Paper Scissors.

Preceding the release of A Kiss Before You Go will be début single I Will Dance (When I Walk Away) which will be released on Propeller Recordings. I find this track to be rather lovely and infectious at the same time. All in all Katzenjammer are a fantastic band and judge by the material I’ve heard from A Kiss Before You Go I can tell that they can make waves in the UK.

Katzenjammer play at the Scala 22nd March 2012: http://www.ticketweb.co.uk/user/?region=gb_london&query=detail&event=484970&interface=scala

A Kiss Before You Go is released 7th May 2012 while preceding that will be I Will Dance (When I Walk Away) 12th March 2012.

www.katzenjammer.com // www.facebook.com/katzenjammerne  // @katzenjammers

Leave a Reply

