Marina and the Diamonds @ Shepherd’s Bush Empire 26th February 2012

Having attended the Brighton gig the day before I always knew that I would need to turn up earlier. Even though London had not sold out I knew that peoples arrival wouldn’t be as sparse as the day before. I arrived at 12pm and there was only one other person sitting on the steps. In about an hour there were 20 people all queuing for this NME Awards gig. The waiting was better compared to Brighton. Mainly because everyone sitting on the steps were underneath shelter. At St George’s Church there were plenty of birds on the ledges. Fast forward to 7pm the doors opened. I was in the General Admission Queue while there was a Priority Queue as well. For some reason when going inside the Priority Queue were a little delayed for some reason. I then walked at a fast pace to the barrier. Like the prior night the support was Eugene McGuinness. The set was exactly the same as the prior night and his new material is growing on me. Thunderbolt which ended the set was a cracking tune.

At 9pm Marina took to the stage and started to sing Radioactive. This was an acoustic piano based song. Diamandis was not on the keyboard for this song but instead sang this gentle song superbly. Her vocals were slightly operatic and extremely strong at the same time. Once over the crowd erupted with applause then it was onto Are You Satisfied? I really like this song and it was one of my favourites from The Family Jewels. The verses were extremely quirky and infectious at the same time. Marina has an extra member in the band this being a female backing singer/ keyboard player. This extra addition actually works. The Outsider then followed on and everyone sang along to this song. This song was faultless and was packed with a punch at the same time. “Good evening London. Nice to see you all again. It’s a Sunday night but you’re pretty lively. Well thankyou for having me back” Marina went said to the crowd when the photographers had left. “Have you all got a wristband?” she then said and everyone shouted out that they hadn’t received one. “No, that’s crap. We need to sort that. Well the code is Electrasheart, you go on my website and you sign up to my mailing list and we give you a free track and then we’ll spam you for the next 5 years of your life” Diamandis said before launching into this infectious Homewrecker. This was one amazing song I can see traces of the Pet Shop Boys. Homewrecker was a perfect Electro Pop song which is extremely infectious at the same time. “Do you like it?” Marina said immediately after. It was clear that this song went down well with the crowd. It was then onto I Am Not A Robot and this was a right crowd pleaser. I Am Not A Robot was an infectious gentle steady paced song which resulted in everyone singing along to it. “I’m just turning on my popstar fan. Can I get a stool please?” Diamandis said before launching into the smooth Living Dead. The vocals were sublime and this song touched on the main themes of Marina’s earlier work which were loneliness, alienation and outsiders. “People and Bands in general get really nervous about playing in London. Coz they always go London is always cold and dry. But you guys are not at all. I was really scared before I came on” Marina said before taking to the keyboard for Obsessions. This song is extremely quirky and gentle at the same time. You felt obliged to sing along to this beautiful song. Obsessions conveyed the message that everyone does have individual things that they are obsessed with. “This is Marilyn. I’m going on with her on a tour next May called the Lonely Hearts Club. I plan to get a big one built. I’m a bit afraid she’ll steal the show. What do you guys think a big Marilyn?” Diamandis said when introducing her Pink toy Poodle. Primadonna was the next song and this is packed with promise. This was another slice of perfect Electro Pop. The chorus was soft and had a gentle pace while the verses were thumping and infectious at the same time.

It was then onto Starring Role. This also features on Electra Heart and was delivered strongly and at a gentle pace. Plenty of people clapped along to Numb and this song was sung beautifully. Having backing vocals worked wonders. Marina then introduced the band then went into the pleasing Oh No! This song was Pure Pop with infectious lyrics which oozed plenty of energy. What followed on was the last outing for Jealousy. “I will never sing this song again. It’s called Jealousy, it actually didn’t make the 1st album or the 2nd one. So this will be the last time I’ll play it” Diamandis then went onto say before replying “It’s embarrassing to be jealous though” after one fan shouted out that they loved Jealousy. This song was both infectious and faultlessly delivered at the same time. Even though I myself love this song I can see why Marina is ditching it. “The night is coming to an end, thankyou NME for always being very supportive” Marina said before launching into the energetic Mowgli’s Road. Once over Diamandis and band left the stage only to come on moments later for the encore. The choice of encore song was the beautiful Fear And Loathing. This being the first song from Electra Heart that appeared on Youtube. Now that video showed Marina cutting her hair short. The song was pure perfection and had some luscious lyrics. “Thankyou very much for coming, I hope to see you all again. I’m not sure when I’ll play London next but you’ve made my night very fabulous” Marina said before singing the infectious Hollywood. This was an infectious song and the atmosphere from the crowd was simply electric. Everyone was jumping up and down having a good time. “Thankyou so much, goodnight” Diamandis said making her exit after having played an outstanding gig.

SET LIST

Radioactive
Are You Satisfied?
The Outsider
Homewrecker
I Am Not A Robot
Living Dead
Obsessions
Primadonna
Starring Role
Numb
Oh No!
Jealousy
Mowgli’s Road

ENCORE

Fear And Loathing
Hollywood

OVERALL: Now Marina Diamandis is back I find myself falling in love with her music even more. From what she showcased from Electra Heart I can tell that the album will be fantastic. As for Homewrecker and Primadonna those two songs grab your attention straight away. Even though Marina announced she wasn’t sure when she would next play London a London date went on sale the day after. I am counting down the days until I have Electra Heart in my hands.

Leave a Reply

