The Thinking Men – Mirror Test EP

Recorded in Norwich during the snowstorms earlier this year is the 5 track Mirror Test EP by The Thinking Men.

Hailing from Norwich, this three piece has already played with some of the city’s most notable upcoming artists including Axel Loughrey, The Dirty Tricks and even a support slot with BBC Radio 2 favourite Jack Savoretti. The Thinking Men are two guys, one girl and a lot of instruments. Playing an interesting and eclectic brand of jazz-influenced blues rock, the band is defined by frontman Johnny Raspin’s stunningly powerful vocal offerings and an array of sounds from multi-instrumentalists Sarah Barsoumian and Ronnie Smith.

Their influences include Tom Waits, The Doors and Nick Cave, and they’ve already attracted interest from BBC Introducing, Drowned In Sound and The 405 over the past few months.

Now what do I think of the bands debut effort:

I am in love with this EP. It consists of just 5 songs but they are enough to leave you wanting more. Mirror Test is extremely diverse the first three tracks were extremly powerful while the closing two were alot gentler. Johnny’s vocals are sublime and you can pick up the energy which oozes from each song. Sarah’s harmonising was wonderful. The style of the music was Folk Blues Rock and when I first listened to this EP the first band to pop into my head was Tankus The Henge. It is hard to pick my favourite track from this EP as all of them are fantastic. I do have a soft spot fpr Sonnet though. I most definately would want to see this band live as I reckon the performance would ooze energy.

This self released EP comes out on 7th November 2011.

TRACKLISTING

I Think, Therefore I Am
Don’t Do What I Do, Just Do What I Say
False Alarm
Whiskey & Milk
Sonnet

Forthcoming Tour Dates:

10/11 – The Bicycle Shop, Norwich – EP Launch Party
10/12 – The Constitution, Camden, London
Leave a Reply

