In The Spotlight: #016 Nina Smith

It comes as a great surprise that singer/ songwriter Nina Smith isn’t signed to a major record label. For starters I think her blend of Acoustic Soulful pop is tremendous. Smith developed her style in various studios around Nottingham for the last  4 years, and has been performing her work over the last 2 years across the UK. From what I have heard via Youtube I would love to witness her perform live as I am guessing her vocals are spot on. Her live gigs have mainly focused in the Midlands region.

Here is what BBC Review had to say:

”Being a big fan of soulful singing sensation Nina Smith, I was excited that she was being showcased by the BBC Introducing..stage – turns out I wasn’t the only one. The crowd was so huge I barely had room to sip my beer and there were people desperately trying to cram their way in throughout her whole set. It was worth the big squeeze though as she was on sparkling form, with her pristine, porcelain vocals permeating through the chilled grooves of her full backing band. Definitely one to watch, and I have a feeling I’m going to be glad that I got to see her before she gets whisked away by a major label.”

At the age of 25 Smith has just released 4 track EP Lonely Heart Club. The first song taken from this EP being the gentle/ Soulful I Wont Forget You.

You can catch Nina play at:

20/08/11 – Canal House Festival, Nottingham
28/08/11 – Strawberry Fields Festival, Leicester
02/09/11 – Jam Café, Nottingham
10/10/11 – Nottingham Playhouse
02/12/11 – Supporting Antonio Forcione

Leave a Reply

