Cloud Control @ The Social 28th June 2011

After having seen Erin K & Tash st Kings Cross, St Pancras it was then a short journey to Oxford Circus. I was going to attend the third part of the Aviary series. Supporting Cloud Control on this date was Kites and Alpines. Now I was pretty excited to see Alpines again as they impressed me when I saw them support The Naked & Famous at Shepherd’s Bush Empire. The doors opened around 7.50pm and I went downstairs with the other whom had tickets. It wasn’t long till the first support took to the stage and this was Talkers. Unfortunately I knew very little about this band prior to them  performing. The audience then found out later Kites cancelled at the last minute. Still they did a sterling job by filling in at the last minute. I find that if I hear a band and know nothing about them I find it hard to appreciate the music they are singing. Still I would love to hear them again and know a little more about them. Second on the night were a relatively new band and this being Alpines. They formed in 2010 and consist of Bob Matthews and Catherine Pockson. Alpines show alot of promise and the songs that they sung were brilliant. I would definately want to see them perform live again in the future.

Cloud Control took to the stage around 10pm. The thing I most liked about the set was the fact they shook it up and changed the set list. They night opened up with last weeks closing number and this being Ghost Story. There is one line that sums the song up “I felt the hairs on the back of my neck stand up”. This is not dark song infact it is rather energetic. The harmonising was spot on and yet again Conrad was filling in for Jeremy. Whether if this is for the time being I do not know. But one thing for sure Conrad has fitted into the folds of the band rather easily. “This is our third show playing here has anyone come to the other ones” Alister said before someone shouted out No. “This guy has” Heidi said after I had raised my hand. She then went onto say Thankyou. Well after all that it was then onto the uptempo That Is What I Said. The harmonising faultless and you can pick up on its folk vibe. The song that followed on straight away was Death Cloud. This was a powerful song and the one thing I adore is how all their vocals mould together perfectly. After plenty of applause it was then into My Fear. This this song was extremely uptempo to begin with and the lyrics were very gentle and easy on the ear. “We don’t always play this song” Alister said before playing the laid back song The Rolling Stone. This song is gentle, mellowing and chilled out at the same time. Next it was Sexy Dave’s favourite song and this being Just For Now. This was the first time I had heard this song live and it is mainly sung by Alister with Heidi harmonising. It sounded amazing, gentle and mellowing at the same time. It was then onto the Meditation Song #2 B Side this being Into The Line. In fact the song appeared on the self titled EP. This song was brilliant and it sounded slightly dark. The showpiece of Bliss Release was up next and this being the next single Gold Canary. The harmonising was spot on and there is a folk vibe to this upbeat song which was delivered to perfection. The penultimate song being the bands last single Meditation Song #2 (Why, Oh Why). This song is extremely infectious and I especially like the chorus to this song. The minute instrumental at the beginning was incredible. There was definately a summer vibe to this song. “Thanks for sharing this Tuesday with us” Heidi said before launching into the extremely infectious There’s Nothing In The Water We Can’t Fight. Heidi’s backing vocals were excellent and the chorus was really mesmerising.

SET LIST

Ghost Story
That Is What I Said
Death Cloud
My Fear
The Rolling Stone
Just For Now
Into The Line
Gold Canary
Mediation Song #2 (Why, Oh Why)
There’s Nothing In The Water We Can’t Fight

OVERALL: This third night at The Social was brilliant as usual. The support by Alpines was excellent and the fact Cloud Control changed the set around was brilliant. The decision to change the set list round was a good idea because it kept things fresh for people that did attend the past two nights in The Aviary series. I am intrigued to know what they have under their sleeves for the final night next Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

