Summer Camp @ The Lexington 8th October 2010

Summer Camp

In King’s Cross lies The Lexington. It is a nice little pub which puts on some amazing shows. This evening was the co headline tour of Summer Camp and Frankie and the Heartstrings. This date was added due to phenomenal demand for the first date 1st October. When I saw the running bill of the night I could see that it was a late one. The timings I had emailed to me from the ticketing company were completely wrong. I was mainly there to see Summer Camp a wonderful electro pop duo whom sing enchanting songs. So when the doors finally opened everyone started to pour in upstairs. I then made my way to the front and just sat at the stage till the opening act. The opening act was Big Deal a band whom I never heard of before. When hearing a band for the first time I make my judgement very quickly. The fact they were late starting their set lowered my opinion. It was going to take something extremely special for me to enjoy the set. Big Deal are KC Underwood and Alice Costelloe. What was to follow was 30 minutes of mellowing folky music. Homework opened the evening up and to be honest I found it a bit depressing. They also sang a fantastic version of 13 which was originally by Big Star. They did sing other songs that sounded wonderful and after I picked up the 4 track demo CD.  The set by Summer Camp was really interesting. The duo consist of Jeremy Warmsley and Elizabeth Sankey. There is something I really like about this band. The songs are wonderful. Songs which were sung feature on the current EP Young and there were a couple of new ones added into the mix. Out of the new songs I quite liked One Day Older and 1985 (as they are new songs I don’t know the exact title). There was plenty of banter by the band and quite a few shouts of LONDON!! By Elizabeth. The packed audience hung on every note which was sung. The set ended with current single Round The Moon. Elizabeth even came and sung in front of the speakers. Still when the song finished there was a rapture of cheers and applause. Judging by this evening Summer Camp have plenty of amazing songs that are album worthy.

Leave a Reply

