iTunes Festival – Ellie Goulding @ Roundhouse 8th July 2010

I was the first to arrive for this event. The reason I arrived early was the fact I was due to meet Laura whom I met on the Monday. Well the queuing was fun because joining us later in the day was Emily and Ryan. So it was a mini street team meet up. Also once we were indoors we got chatting to this girl from Ireland. To my surprise she is a follower of the street team. Once inside there was an agonising wait till the support. This being Liverpool based Delta Maid and the style of music is roots music/ acoustic/ blues. She is a nice girl but the music did not really captivate me. I am guessing the music is a slow grower. The only thing I remember is when she introduced the last song. “This song is about the wags” she said in her strong Liverpool accent.

Headlining this night at the Roundhouse was the winner of the BBC Sound Poll and winner of the Critics Choice Award at the BRITS. This being the one and only Ellie Goulding. She has gone from strength to strength and even surprised me as she felt more comfortable in this environment. The main floor was packed out and there was plenty more banter plus the usual. She even revealed the last time she was at the Roundhouse was at a Passion Pit gig but as a spectator. The night kicked of with Lights which is a nice song with bundles of energy. After when this song was over there was a bit of banter which was the first time ever. Ellie asked the crowd to join in with the oh oh ohs at the beginning of Every Time You Go. The song is delivered perfectly and Goulding’s sickly sweet vocals are fantastic. The up beat This Love followed on and it a song you can have a good dance to. Your Biggest Mistake is a addictive infectious song which has lyrics you want to sing along to. The Writer then started to play with loads of screams. I really like this beautiful ballad and there was plenty of waving arms/ singing. After there is some banter introducing the next song. “It’s actually the first song I ever wrote in my bedroom in my dressing gown I remember that quite well”.

This song was Wish I Stayed the rest of the band except Chris (who was on keys) vacated the stage. This is another beautiful ballad which has slightly up tempo lyrics. I’ll Hold My Breath was next on the night and I adore this song ever since the day the working title was Swimming Pool. “How is everyone” Ellie said. “There’s some lovely faces round here”. “The next song we are going to play is by a band we really like called Midlake”. This cover was to be the unique but haunting version of Roscoe. It simply sounded superb. After this was a first the final 4 songs were going to be broadcast live on ITV2. So Ellie went off stage only to come back a little before 10pm. That is when Dave Berry and Fearne Cotton took to the stage to introduce Ellie. They definitely saved the best till last. The first being Guns & Horses which everyone was clapping along too the song was both strong and powerful. Salt Skin saw Goulding play the drums which were set up next to drummer Joe Clegg. There was then a massive sing a long during the debut single Under The Sheets while ending the night was Starry Eyed which the whole 3000 strong audience went crazy for.

SET LIST

Lights
Every Time You Go
This Love
Your Biggest Mistake
The Writer
Wish I Stayed
I’ll Hold My Breath
Roscoe
Guns & Horses
Salt Skin
Under The Sheets
Starry Eyed

OVERALL: This was one amazing night. Ellie is getting more comfortable with the crowd but she is not there yet. You could tell after she had finished playing Roscoe and had to go offstage before they went live. I do love the Goulding though and this gig is up there in the top 2 Ellie performances I have seen.

As for Delta Maid all I can say is nice girl but not my kind of music I would listen to. They could of chosen a more suitable artist I.e Leah Mason or Lissie.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

