The Pipettes @ Puregroove 20th April 2010

The Pipettes are back. Other than the male band that backs them Gwenno is the only surviving member since the very first album We Are The Pipettes which was released on Memphis Industries. Since then there has been line up changes galore. Well three to be exact. The last time I saw them Beth Mburu-Bowie was the third member of the group but now has left to leave both Ani and Gwenno Saunders at the helm. Being sisters does prove to be a good combination as I cannot foresee anymore line up changes. The lunchtime instore was to coincide with the release of Stop The Music which had recently been released on the 19th. The band have also embarked on a UK tour and on this day they were going to be appearing at Hoxton Bar & Kitchen. The afternoon show featured only 5 songs. Four of which are taken from forthcoming Fortuna Pop album Earth vs. Pipettes and one old song taken from the debut.

Even though Gwenno said they left out the dancy tracks well I beg to differ. Each of the 5 songs you can dance to and the presence you get from them when they are performing is incredible. They definitely enjoy singing and they also have fun. The store was actually quite packed which was surprising as it was a 1.15 instore. Still I was right at the front sitting down. Things kicked off with Ain’t No Talkin’. This is a catchy song and the chorus is perfect. I really loved the actions it is nice when a artist gets stuck into a song. It gives off a good performance and the passion that they have shows. After this song was Call Me. The fact they do actions in time with one another is brilliant. Like all the songs it is a fun pop song and the vocals are equally shared between Gwenno and Ani. The melody is lovely and the lyrics gel perfectly. Still it is a wonderful song and you can picture the story behind it. Next Ani says shall we do a old song but no one shouts out any song. So they decide to sing the fast paced Your Kisses Are Wasted On Me. This is a strong fun song. I think this generation of The Pipettes are here to stay surely a sisterly bond is the most strongest bond there can be when in a band. The penultimate song being one of my favourites. This being Thank You which starts off with Ani taking the lead. The vocals are equally shared out and the harmonising is incredible. The very start of the song reminds me of Sophie Ellis Bextor. The final song of the afternoon was Stop The Music. Now hearing this song live was a real treat. The last time I saw them this was a song that Beth sang so it was interesting to see what it sounds like with someone else taking the lead. It is a lovely up tempo song and extremely catchy.

Well after this wonderful instore I made my way home after hearing some brilliant music. The Pipettes are here to stay I cant see either Gwenno or Ani leaving nor any new member joining. Both sisters Ani and Gwenno are the perfect combination. I look forward for the June release of the follow up album. With all the new songs I have seen I for one know it will be a real cracker.

One Comment Add yours

  1. TWEEFREAK says:

    EFFING HECK. YOU LOOK AWAY FOR ONE SECOND AND THE PIPETTES WORLD HAS CHANGED AGAIN. AM I ALLOWED TO SAY THAT I MISS JULIA? I MISS JULIA. THAT BETH WAS A WEIRD CHOICE BUT I DID LOVE HER VOICE.

    I HEARD SOMEONE SAY THAT SHE’S GEARING TO RELEASE STUFF SO I CHECKED HER MYSPACE (WWW.MYSPACE.COM/HOWABOUTBETH) AND WAS LIKE WOAH – A BLACK REGINA SPEKTOR! ANYWAY ROSAY’S ALBUM IS COMING OUT THIS YEAR. WOOOOOOOOOOO!

Leave a Reply

