Laura Marling @ Banquet Records 24th March 2010

To coincide with the release of follow up album I Speak Because I Am the talented Laura Marling took part in not one but two instores at Kingston’s very own Banquet Records. Originally this instore was supposed to be on the 23rd March but got moved to the following day. It was pretty handy for me when I found out because I was elsewhere on Tuesday. When I first heard about the original event I was so gutted I wouldn’t be able to go. As soon as the date changed I went on the net pre ordered the deluxe album to secure my spot inside. The last time I actually saw Laura was in November 2008 at Scala since then she’s changed an awful lot. Gone is the blonde hair and it has now been dyed brown.

Well there were 2 instores one at 6pm and the other being 7.30pm. I had a ticket to the later one but still arrived there early enough to be the first one there for that show. When the doors did open everyone passed me and went inside. There was some space and I was allowed inside. I asked whether I would be OK for the 7.30pm show and he said it was fine. Once inside I was right at the back. Yes I would of liked to be at the front but it was never going to happen. I was just grateful to be inside and listen to the wonderful folkness of the new songs. There were a few tuning issues but Laura said it was down to Pete Roe taking her tuner. Other banter included the fact Laura spent 90minutes travelling from London in a black cab. The driver was on the mobile speaking about mortgages on a loop.

SET 1

Rambling Man

Alpha Shallows

Hope In The Air

I Speak Because I Can

Made A Maid

Goodbye England (Covered In Snow)

So after this short 6 song set everyone made their way out and went to one side as Laura was going to sign items. I then later over hear that there wouldn’t be a signing after the 7.30 set so I just hopped in with the others and got my CD signed. Also had a quick chat with Laura left then waited for the second show. People started to go in around 7.25 and I got straight to the counter. Both camera and phone were out already. Laura who was performing acoustically on a platform behind the counter came on promptly. Originally I thought how is she going to do this will it be different songs or will it be the same songs as the first set. Well the set was completely the same but in completely the reverse order. Now hearing Laura Marling is a real treat and seeing her at a instore is even better. The night was to coincide with the album I Speak Because I Can and showcased material from the album. Laura only sang 6 songs 5 of which I heard way back in 2008. Still it was nice to hear an acoustic and each song was delivered superbly. Kicking things off was Laura’s attempt at a Christmas single Goodbye England (Covered In Snow). It is a nice gentle soothing song. It is pure folk and Laura delivers it spot on. It was then onto Made A Maid. It is a steady paced and is also very short. Well it is a strong song and it in fact does not have a chorus. The title track I Speak Because I Can followed on and it is a haunting song. Laura belts it out and the lyrics are perfect. It was Hope In The Air which has to be my favourite track from the new album. Again the lyrics are perfect. It is a steady paced song and gets stronger when it progresses. After that brilliant song it was then onto a song people may recognise. This being Alpha Shallows which appeared as a B Side on Night Terror. Even though it was a B Side it found its way onto the album. I find it to be quite haunting. Rounding off the evening was Rambling Man. It is a strong song and you can tell Laura is giving it her all to deliver an amazing song. Just attending a instore where Laura is playing is completely surreal especially as there was no barrier.

SET 2

Goodbye England (Covered In Snow)

Made A Maid

I Speak Because I Can

Hope In The Air

Alpha Shallows

Rambling Man

OVERALL: I was extremely pleased I got my album signed and I was extremely grateful having witnessed the first instore at 6.30pm. Well from the second set Laura told the audience about Pete Roe taking her tuner. This explained why it took a while to tune up. At the end Laura mentioned about her album then said Go Independent. Now this was the first time I had seen Laura since Scala in 2008. I never realised how much I missed hearing her music. Yes she may of changed in hair colour but it is still the same Laura. The album which I am guessing is the first part in a split release (with the third out later this year) has a lot to live up to after the phenomenal debut. But it is a strong follow up nice, gentle, soothing and you could easily put it on a loop. All in all this instore was incredible and I get a sense of satisfaction after having witnessed it.

One Comment Add yours

  1. poppy says:

    me and my friend were also right at the counter for the second show! it was incredible. She truly is a genius. Best album I’ve heard for a long time.

Leave a Reply

