#26. Ten Questions With… Polly Scattergood

Polly Scattergood has to be one of my many favourite artists this year. The debut self titled album is in my top 10 albums of the year. The ten track album includes my favourite Polly song Bunny Club.

Despite misunderstanding in the press, her name Scattergood is her family name. It means “here today, gone tomorrow” or “spendthrift waster”.

Polly attended the Brit School where she wrote 800 songs. After graduation she caught the attention of music industry executive Neil Ferris who took on her management. Ferris then introduced Polly to Daniel Miller head of Mute Records. He led her to her current producer Simon Fisher Turner.

Polly was so kind to find some time to spare to become the next artist to participate in this series:

Q 01. What was your first musical instrument and where did you get it?

 

 

I always had  music around me, when I was little we had a piano it was really old and I colored in the keys with felt tip pens.  The first instrument I actually saved up for and brought myself though, was a Red Fender Stratocaster with a maplewood neck. It took me so long to save for it, but I eventually got it,  it  was 2nd hand from this little shop by my parents house, when I got it home it was like the best feeling in the world.

 
Q 02. What was your favourite gig you have headlined or supported at?
 
Its hard to choose as there have been lots of fun gigs.  The best ones are usually in the small venues when they are really rammed and there is a great buzzy atmosphere… musically however I would say playing at the Round House in Camden, supporting Bat For Lashes was pretty amazing, firstly as it was on my home ground and also as a band when we play live we have a pretty big sound that a lot of the small venues can’t handle, so it was great to be able to play in a venue with a PA that is big enough to take our sound properly.
 
Q 03. If you were to collaborate with anyone dead or alive who would it be and why?
 
David Bowie he is just a incredible writer and artist, the “Low” album its fearless and beautiful
 
Q 04. Favourite song to sing live and why?
 
Bunny Club is fun to play if that doesn’t get the crowd dancing then nothing will, but Nitrogen Pink when it works, can be really cool, plus I usually close my set with Nitrogen Pink so when I get there I know I’m on the home run!
 
Q 05. Favourite music venue and why?
I am a big fan of tiny venues when watching live music.  When I first moved to London I used to drink & play in the 12bar in Denmark street. I also actually really love a place called Shunt in London Bridge. its not so much a Music venue although it does have gigs there, it is more like a performance art space, under the arches.  I heard a rumour it was closing down, I hope thats not true though.
 
Q 06. Where do you get your inspiration from when writing songs?
 
All around me. When you are a writer sometimes the most tiny things become significant, maybe someone will say a line in passing & I will write it down.  I also write lots when I am moving & traveling.  When I write songs its very much a subconscious thing so often when I am not trying something just pops into my head. I have been known to call my landline leave myself new song idea answer machine messages, when I don’t have a pen and paper to hand
 
Q 07. Describe your music in 3 words?
 
Wordy electroalternative soundscapes (Electroalternative is potentially a entirely made up word)
 
Q 08. What tips do you offer to any one wanting to become a singer or start a band?
 
Tips are hard to give out as everyone does it differently and has different journeys.  I suppose the main thing I have learned is that you have to become a bit tough at times & not let the knock backs effect you. People will always have opinions good and bad, but so long as you true to yourself and have belief in the music you are creating, then thats all that matters.
 
Q 09. Who is your favourite singer or band at the moment?
 
I love the YeahYeahYeahs
 
Q 10. Goals for the year?
 
Finish writing the second album!
 

To hear music by Polly go to: Official Polly Scattergood Myspace

If you like what you hear the album is £6.99 on Play.com

Leave a Reply

