United Underground @ Southbank Centre 18th July 2009

I arrived outside the Queen Elizabeth Hall at 4pm to find out something had already been taking place. It was a prequel to the United Underground evening I would be attending. Well I already knew I wanted to see. Well doors opened at 4.35pm so I got my wristband and then went straight up to the roof then found a place to sit.

 

Aruba Red
Aruba Red
Natcuu
Natcuu
Well proceedings started at 5pm with Aruba Red being the first artist of the evening. Now it wasn’t the type of music I would listen to but I did really enjoy the short 4 song set. Well if I was to describe the genre of music I would say Reggae. Well Aruba started off with Rebel Soldiers which was followed by 42 Days. The other two I cannot remember the names of. The next music act which followed on from a talk by this woman from Object was Natcuu. Well this was again something I would never listen to because I don’t listen to foreign music. Well this was J Pop Natcuu and her band had flew all the way from Tokyo to play. I can’t say anything bad about the set because it was really good even though I didn’t understand a word of it I just liked the feel of the songs. Also Natcuu is so sweet. After Natcuu was another 10 minute talk from Ali Alizedah about the elections in Iraq. Tom Charge Burke the main vocalist of Official Secrets Act was next. He was solo and by himself. Well Official Secrets Act are one band I wouldn’t mind seeing live. Well Tom had a strong 7 song set which I really liked. Well Official Secrets Act are definitely on my list of people to see live. Well when Tom got onto the last song in the set the heavens started to open. Once the last song was over everyone left the rooftop and if it stopped raining we would be going back to the rooftop if not it was the Purcell Room.
Tom Charge Burke
Tom Charge Burke
Theoretical Girl
Theoretical Girl
So I then went into the Queen Elizabeth Hall. I met Amy (Theoretical Girl) inside had a chat with her then just milled about. Amy then told me that everything was moving to the Purcell Room. So I made my way over there and it was a long wait till the stage was ready. Amy came out as well giving updates on what was happening. Well a hour later people were let into the room. I went front row in the centre. It was good despite Amy’s sheet music covering her face. Well Amy’s set was cut short by 15minutes. Well the set opened up with I Should Of Loved You More which sounded beautiful. It sounded like a ballad because it was solo on the keyboard. This was then followed by The Biggest Mistake which is a really good song and it is up tempo. Well after the song Amy gave the audience the choice of another song on keyboard or one on guitar. Everyone opted for guitar so Amy decided to play The Boy I Left Behind. There was little feedback from the guitar but overall the song was perfect. The last song was Seeing You Again and Amy started to playing it only to stop till everyone was quiet. Now I completely understand why Amy did that because it is such a lovely song and talking spoils it for the people who have come to see that specific person. Well it was another faultless performance by Amy considering the feedback problems. Well after I saw one song by Jamie Woon then left and I hung out with Amy and Kelly till 10pm. We were just sitting outside talking. It was a truly brilliant evening.
Leave a Reply

