Marina and the Diamonds @ The Roundhouse 10th July 2009

I got outside the Roundhouse around 2.30pm. I was the only one there and the next people didn’t arrive till 3pm. So I just sat down waiting for the doors to open at 6pm. The running order was stuck onto the door. The doors inside opened at 7 Milow on at 7.30, Marina 8.20 then Paolo at 9.20. Well doors eventually opened at 18.00. We all went in got the bar code on our email scanned in and got our lanyards and wristbands. The person that scanned in my email took ages. So we all made our way up to the doors and waited for another hour till they opened. At 19.00 the doors opened and I managed to get to the front. It was a 30minute wait till the first act who was Milow. Now Milow I wasn’t aware of his music. Well all that I did know was that he did Ayo Technology which was sung by 50 Cent. Well I really liked his songs. It was the first ever time he I got outside the Roundhouse around 2.30pm. I was the only one there and the next people didn’t arrive till 3pm. So I just sat down waiting for the doors to open at 6pm. The running order was stuck onto the door. The doors inside opened at 7 Milow on at 7.30, Marina 8.20 then Paolo at 9.20. Well doors eventually opened at 18.00. We all went in got the bar code on our email scanned in and got our lanyards and wristbands. The person that scanned in my email took ages. So we all made our way up to the doors and waited for another hour till they opened. At 19.00 the doors opened and I managed to get to the front. It was a 30minute wait till the first act who was Milow. Now Milow I wasn’t aware of his music. Well all that I did know was that he did Ayo Technology which was sung by 50 Cent. Well I really liked his songs. It was the first ever time he had played in the UK. Milow was joined with three other people and he announced that his second gig in the UK would be at The Lexington at the end of August.

At 20.20 it was the act that I came to The Roundhouse to see. Now Marina is a amazing artist and that I have had the pleasure of meeting at Puregroove in June. Even though this set was exactly the same as the previous time I saw her it was still brilliant. The energy oozes out of her performance. Well when Marina came on the stage she mentions that she feels like a glitter ball and she takes off her heels. The first song was Girls. Marina turns her back to the crowd takes her coat off turns back and goes to the microphone. This is a powerful energetic song. I love this song it is catching and I love the lyrics. It is a song you can jump about to. Well it was funny seeing the cameraman trying to follow Marina when recording her set. Seventeen is next up. Before she starts she reaches down for a bottle of water and says the last song was a workout for her. Marina mentions that her keyboard player can do the Rugrats theme tune. Well this song has some really good lyrics. Lyrics that are really catchy. I like the bit where Marina says “I turn 17, the rise of a king and the fall of a queen”. Marina has such a powerful voice and she can deliver her songs strongly. I’m Not A Robot is the next song. This is the current single as a video for this song has been made. This song is amazing Marina puts everything into this song and its delivered strongly too. The high notes are hit perfectly and the lyrics are brilliant. I love the pace and the beat to this song. The screens behind Marina come on to show shooting stars. Following on is Gwen Stefani cover What You Waiting For. One word to sum this song up is “amazing”. Marina puts everything into this song and the energy oozes out of this song. Next on the night is Obsessions. Marina takes to the keyboard. Marina says this is the part of the show where we witness a child prodigy as she has reached grade 1 in piano. Marina also calls herself Marina Mozart. Well Obsessions delivers a message that we all have things we obsess about. Now this is a beautiful slow song. The lyrics are great and the melody combines with them really well. This is a strong contender for my favourite song by Marina. A new song follows called Shampain. Now I have heard this song twice prior. Well the lyrics are brilliant. It is really catchy and a song that you can jump about to as there is a beat to it. The screens behind are on. Well when Marina claps everyone else starts to clap. Well the final song of the set was Mowgli’s Road. Now this is another energetic song. It has brilliant lyrics and it is catchy. When Marina Cuckoos I join in as well as Marina wanted the crowd to join in. Well Mowgli’s Road was a good song to end on.

SET LIST

Girls
Seventeen
Robot
What You Waiting For
Obsessions
Shampain
Mowgli’s Road

Leave a Reply

