#19. Ten Questions With… Kaci

Kaci is back with brand new single Crazy Possessive which has already been making waves on the radio in the America and it has recieved a good response in the UK. The song which was only released on iTunes and through Amazon.com is the first single taken from the forthcoming untitled album which is slated for a 2009 release. Kaci who has signed with BIG Entertainment will now release material under her full name Kaci Battaglia.

Kaci first came to my attention with her debut hit Paradise which was released in 2001 and charted in the UK at #11. The highest charting single was I Think I Love You which entered the top 10 by entering at #10. Kaci also provided her song I’m Not Anybody’s Girl for the film View From The Top.

2009 marks the return of Kaci. She is now 21 and her music has matured greatly. Crazy Possessive is a absolute cracker and just listening to it parts remind you of SOS by Rihanna and Keeps Gettin’ Better by Christina Aguilera.

I look forward to hearing future material. From just hearing Crazy Possessive the album will be brilliant. I was especially pleased that Kaci agreed take part in ten questions with:

Q 01. What was your first musical instrument and where did you get it?

When I was very little -around 3 years old, my dad started teaching me how to play the drums. I didn’t play much, but always loved it. When I was 9 I received a set of my own and started taking lessons. It was fantastic! But even at that early age traveling for singing dominated my life. As a result, there wasn’t enough time and as a result I had to give my hobby up. I have also dabbled in piano and guitar.

Q 02. What was your favourite gig you have headlined or supported at?

There are two factors that make a performance most enjoyable. First, large crowds: the larger the crowd the better. So when I performed in front of over 100,000 people at Hyde Park in London for a Gay Pride festival, it naturally became one of my favorites. Second, when people know your material and enjoy it. After establishing some success in the UK with my first single “Paradise”, I had the opportunity to do some live performances. I remember the exhilaration like it was yesterday! Prior to that trip most of my performances had been for TV, so when I walked out on stage and the crowd screamed so loud I couldn’t hear myself speak or sing, you can image my shock! When I sang “Paradise” they new every word. Experiences like that are always such a high!!!

Though my new single “Crazy Possessive” has just been released in America, it is gaining radio play quite quickly in some areas including San Francisco where I will be performing for Energy 92.7 KNGY. This performance is going to be during Gay Pride ’09!! If the crowd has had the chance to become familiar with “Crazy Possessive” and if the turnout is anything close to that of Hyde Park a few years ago, than this performance may be my new favorite to date!!! : )

Q 03. If you were to collaborate with anyone dead or alive who would it be and why?

The person I would most like to collaborate with is Judy Garland. I became a fan of hers when I was 2-3 years old. I used to watch “The Wizard of OZ” literally every day. I had every word memorized!! From then on I became a follower of her work and life.

Q 04. Favourite song to sing live and why?

I love performing songs that I have written myself. It is just such an honor to have a career from the music I write and sing!! Performing them live is the BEST!!

Q 05. Favourite music venue and why?

Performances are more about crowd response than venue for me. Great acoustics are always appreciated, as are great monitors, but the crowd is what makes all the difference. : )

Q 06. Where do you get your inspiration from when writing songs?

I am inspired by life.

Q 07. Describe your music in 3 words?

Anthemic, Audacious, and empowering.

Q 08. What tips do you offer to any one wanting to become a singer or start a band?

When I began my journey in the entertainment industry, I underestimated the callousness and volatility inherent in it. If you think it is easy or glamorous, think again. There certainly are moments when this is true, but all-in-all, it is an industry where -even at the top of your game, you may work very arduously, for an extensive amount of time, with a relatively high probability of no return at all.

One can determine whether he or she really wants to pursue a career as recording artist when they recognize whether they enjoy the work itself. It’s just like the old saying goes, “If you do what you love, you will never work a day in your life.” It is not for the money, or for the glory, that I do what I do. It is for the simple joy of waking up each morning happy with my life!

Q 09. Who is your favourite singer or band at the moment?

Incubus is a classic favorite for me. Musically, it is their positive and progressive, intellectually and spiritually rebellious undercurrents that keeps me coming back for more. When it comes to branding and conceptuality, I think Madonna -and more recently Lady GaGa, have done a fantastic job of this. These qualities -of being aggressive and inspiring with an distinct conceptuality, are ones that I desire to embody as an artist. But in my own way of course!! ; )

Q 10. Goals for the year?

My goals for this year begins with making “Crazy Possessive” a chart-topping success internationally. I would also like to have my new album out by the end of the year!!

Links:

If you are lucky enough to live in America you can catch her at these forthcoming dates:

27 Jun 2009 22:15
Pink Saturday- Hosted by Energy 92.7 FM San Francisco, California
9 Jul 2009 1:00
Bianco Ultra Lounge Happauge, New York
10 Jul 2009 1:00
D’Jais Belmar Beach, New Jersey
11 Jul 2009 0:00
Studio Allzone Roselle, New Jersey
11 Jul 2009 2:00
New York Underground Brooklyn, New York
Leave a Reply

