#16. Ten Questions With… Joana And The Wolf

Joana and the Wolf first came to my attention when I saw they are on the same bill as Roxy Rawson and King Charles at the Boogaloo next Wednesday. However I am unable to attend with the forthcoming 48 hour tube strike impending from the 9th June through to 11th June. Well this is a band I really want to see live after the songs I heard on Myspace I took a instant liking to.

The bands recent single Natural Born Killer which is backed with Deamon’s Bride is out on Itunes now.  The first release Purple Nights which was released in 2006 can still be tracked down on the internet.

Joana who comes from Lithuania kindly took some time out to become the next artist to participate in this series:

Q 01. What was your first musical instrument and where did you get it?

kankles.that’s lithuanian national instrument, my parents took me to the lessons, but really i wanted to take piano lessons (i still havent yet)

Q 02. What was your favourite gig you have headlined or supported at?

we playesd at the old blue last and it was full of magic

Q 03. If you were to collaborate with anyone dead or alive who would it be and why?

Puccini because he could teach me how to write an opera. we plan to write an opera with my band. not for the first album however

Q 04. Favourite song to sing live and why?

Sleepwalker, it always brings me to another level

Q 05. Favourite music venue and why?

the dublin castle because everytime we play there something beautiful happens. this venue loves us

Q 06. Where do you get your inspiration from when writing songs?

from my inner demons who sit in me and constantly bother me

Q 07. Describe your music in 3 words?

beatiful alien beautiful

Q 08. What tips do you offer to any one wanting to become a singer or start a band?

dont start! there are too many bands already and all singers are boring

Q 09. Who is your favourite singer or band at the moment?

Maria Callas

Q 10. Goals for the year?

I used to have so many goals now i just tend to grab what comes.

To listen to music by Joana and the Wolf go to: http://www.myspace.com/joanaandthewolf

If you want to catch the band live:

10 Jun 2009 21:00
The Great Banana Hoax @ The Boogaloo, Highgate London
20 Jun 2009 22:00
Unhappy Birthday Club @ – Tommy Flynn’s London
27 Jun 2009 22:00
The Dublin Castle London
8 Aug 2009 18:00
The Big Chill Festival 2009 Eastnor, Ledbury, Herefordshire
2 Comments Add yours

  1. upvcconservatories says:

    nice. I like their sound. have they got an album out?

  2. Planet Music says:

    they dont have a album out at the moment. They just have 2 singles to their name at the moment but they are a amazing band

Leave a Reply

