Poetry Corner: #01. Eight Questions With…. Neal Zetter

Neal Zetter is a brilliant poet who has a extremely busy schedule attending workshops and giving poetry performances for children and then there are performances which are aimed for the adults. I have had the pleasure of meeting Neal once and even though I have not seen him perform poetry live what I have heard on Myspace I really like.

Well the picture on the left was drawn by Asha at Lena Gardens, aged 10.

Neal has kindly agreed to answer eight questions especially for the poets. Thankyou for agreeing to be the first person taking part in this Neal.

Q 01. How did you get into writing poetry?

I found at an early age it was something I could do. There are lots of things I am rubbish at but I would like to think poetry isn’t one of them (is it?).

Q 02. How long have you been writing poetry for?

Since I was seven and here’s my first poem ever:

There was an old lady from Hull
And she got hit by a bull
The bull said “ow!”
Bumped into a cow
And the cow bumped into a wall

Gimme a break, like I said I was only seven.

Q 03. What inspires you when writing poems?

Real life experiences: people I meet, places I go to, things/music I hear, books I read, movies I see etc. Having said that you might wonder where Scarlett Johansen’s Nose and Me and My Amoeba came from (see my MySpace player).

Q 04. Who is your favourite poet and why?

I know far to many and naming one will make me enemies (!) so I will say Spike Milligan was truly brilliant. Brevity IS the art of wit and he mastered that though his pithy ditties often has a serious point underneath them,

Q 05. Describe your poems in three words?

“all absolutely bloody…” now my word quota is up I shall let you complete the phrase depending on your views.

Q 06. What poets do you advise people to listen to?

All those on my top myspace friendss plus many other great ones about like Dockers MC, Kate Tempest, Susie Showers and the new on the scene Jack Stannard – how long’s your page?

Q 07. Goals for the year?

Make sure there isn’t a poet out there working harder than me so I know I am reaching even more people and keep writing stuff that they keep enjoying. I also should think about losing my virginity and I need a new lawn mower. (The last two are not connected)

Q 08. What tips do you offer to any budding poets?

1) Forget publishing and get established on the scene.
2) Don’t think like many poets that your poems are the best thing ever – instead network, read, listen and learn and then you’ll get better and better
3) get a myspace player and build a following
4) do some try out gigs and go from there
5) stick with it and BELIEVE

To hear more Poetry by Neal Zetter go to: http://www.myspace.com/nealzettercomedyperformancepoet

To hear further poems go to the workshops page at: http://www.cccpworkshops.co.uk/index.htm

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Carolyn says:

    enjoyed reading this …. good tips for poetry and music!

  2. neal z says:

    Thanks Carolyn! Best, N x

  3. ramisha says:

    neal is our teacher in school davies lane primary schhol leytonstone london

  4. hatim says:

    r u 46 years old

Leave a Reply

