#02. Ten Questions With… Doctors & Dealers

Sweedish singer Sparrow who is the voice behind Doctors & Dealers has been one of my Myspace friends for a long time. Sparrow is gearing up to release second album Lost Friends And Newfound Habits. This is the follow up to album Confessions Of A Drunken Mind.

Here is a short review of Confessions Of A Drunken Mind:

“Confessions of a drunken mind is an album of charming, witty, and perky homemade pop music that has garnered comparisons to Kimya Dawson, Regina Spektor, and Casiotone for the Painfully Alone.”

Sparrow was so kind enough to take part in the ten question interview:

Q 01. What was your first musical instrument and where did you get it?

A: My first instrument was a clarinet, I was like 9 and me and my mom bought it in a thrift store cause my mom didn’t wanna spend too much money on it since she thought I would get bored after a week or so. I wanted a clarinet so badly cause I had seen a jazz musician playing around with it on tv one night when I was aloud to stay up late, and I was pretty amazed! I DID get bored after a while, but it took at least a year before that happened! Still love the sound though, so I had to use it in some songs on my new album.

Q 02. What was your favourite gig you have headlined or supported at?

A: My favourite gig so far is probably the one we did at Club NME in New York last summer. Maybe not the best show we’ve done but we met another lovely band, The Indelicates from UK, and they were so good, I still listen to their album. And the party after the show was amazing, I remember walking home trying to talk with a rat, that will give you a hint about what level it was on that party.

Q 03. If you were to collaborate with anyone dead or alive who would it be and why?

A: Nina Simone.

Q 04. Favourite song to sing live and why?

A: Rock ‘n’ roll-dream, cause it allows me to scream my heart out.

Q 05. Favourite music venue and why?

A: There’s a place in Copenhagen called Loppen, dunno if it still exist cause I haven’t been there the last couple of years, but I truly hope so. It’s a warm friendly place and not only because everyone is smoking weed, it’s just a nice place with good sound and nice people.

Q 06. Where do you get your inspiration from when writing songs?

A: Life. My life and others life.

Q 07. Describe your music in 3 words?

A: Wise, divine and meaty.

Q 08. What tips do you offer to any one wanting to become a singer or start a band?

A: Don’t wanna sound like a Nike add, but just do it! Don’t sit on your ass thinking about having a band, just go ahead and play! Don’t worry about being good or bad or what people will think about you, cause one thing is for sure; you can’t please them all anyway so why bother?

Q 09. Who is your favourite singer or band at the moment?

A: I’m totally obsessed with She & Him at the moment, I think I talk about them at least five times a day to anyone who wants to listen.

Q 10. Goals for the year?

A: Just releasing my second album I thought of giving myself some time off but that won’t happen! I have already plans for an EP and a third album and an album with my other band, Southside Stalkers. My dear assistant/back up-singer/shrink/etc Melissa is moving over to Sweden from Canada to fulfill all our plans so i think it will be a very creative year!

Thankyou very much Sparrow for spending time to do this.

To hear material by Doctors & Dealers go to: http://www.myspace.com/doctorsanddealersband

The Official Website is at: http://www.doctorsanddealers.com/

Confessions Of A Drunken Mind can be tracked down on Amazon and Lost Friends and Newfound Habits is released internationally on 21st April 2009

Leave a Reply

