Roxy Rawson/ The Mores @ Puregroove, Farringdon 30th April 2009

After having visited the Puregroove website and viewing the list of instores taking place I came across Roxy Rawson. Now what I liked about the description for this event was she was like a UK version of Regina Spektor. Now I like Regina so I was intrigued to see what she was like. I checked out her Myspace liked the songs and saw she had a EP coming out. Puregroove were selling advanced copies as it is released on 4th May.

First up was Roxy the first three songs were new songs which I hadn’t heard before as they don’t feature on the EP. The last two were Sick Tray and Philanthropy. Now what can I say about this short set well it was fantastic. Roxy is a extremely good violin player and she plays it throughout all her songs bar Sick Tray. There is not a single bad song I look forward to hearing more releases by Roxy and see her again but with a longer set. Puregroove set the standards extremely high by saying she is like the UK version of Regina Spektor and overall Roxy ded not disappoint. When Roxy came off stage I had a chat with her and she was so sweet. I got a photo and she said she was shy. Roxy also said to me did I come down to see The Mores and I told Roxy that I came down to see her.

The Mores were the surprise of the night. I thought I wouldn’t enjoy the music but I found myself staying till the very end. They did a four song set which included Celery, Life After Life and current single When A Man Loves Another Man. They did a encore of one song which was Until The End. The tracks performed were really good but the best from the ones performed has to be Celery.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Hey, I have just been youtubing Roxy Rawson, I am now a fan! Good tip there mate.

Leave a Reply

