The Early Reviews: June 2008

Noah and the Whale @ Scala 4th June 2008

This was the 4th time I had seen Noah and the Whale and the first gig I went to where they had headlined the show.

Support came from the amazing Slow Club and Soko. This was the 4th line up of Noah and the Whale I had seen this time female vocals were provided by Billie.

Well anyways when I was queueing outside Charlie came out and said Hi to me.

Alphabeat @ Koko 5th June 2008

Ever since Alphabeat were going to be playing at Koko I had to get a ticket. I fell in love with the original album that was released outside the UK. Well when in the queue some Journalist came up to us (I got speaking to two girls who were at the front of the queue with me) and asked us about Akphabeat and why we like them. I haven’t seen any reviews neither the footage that was filmed.

Well I enjoyed the night the first support act was The Clik Clik a band that I now really like. Then there was another band whom I cant remember the name then it was Alphabeat.

The encore was Fascination and what a ending bits of silvery paper stated falling down on us.

Laura Marling @ St James’ 11th June 2008

In June Laura Marling did a church tour going to churches in Manchester, Birmingham, Glasgow to name a few. When I saw there was a date in London I had to get a ticket. This date was a sell out and another one was added on the 13th.

Well this gig was amazing as it was a church it was all sitting down. I was right at the front. Advantages of getting there early is getting a good place to watch. This was the 2nd time seeing Laura by herself. She sang all the songs off her album bar Failure plus Blueberry Stone the b side to Cross Your Fingers plus two new songs.

What made this day even more brilliant was the fact that I got Laura’s set list (Not any old printed set list she wrote it) and I got my picture taken with her :).

St James’ is a wonderful venue it has lovely scenery. Well support came from The Wave Pictures and Mumford & Sons.

XFM All Day Breakfast @ The Borderline 21st June 2008

XFM were doing a all day breakfast which was taking place over 24 hours. It started at 6AM with One Night Only.

The one at The Borderline I had won tickets through entering my details on this form to win tickets on Noah and the Whale’s myspace. Well todays gig featured both Mystery Jets and Noah and the Whale.

I was in London by 8AM as it was a 9AM start. Doors didn’t open till 9.30. Well after the gig ended a few people I met and I went to the stage door and we met the Mystery Jets. And I got my picture taken with Willam Mystery Jet.

Dockers MC “Hold To My Ear Book Launch” @ Puregroove, Farringdon 23rd June 2008

Puregroove had changed locations from the small store in Archway to a bigger one in Farringdon.

I last saw Dockers MC back when I saw Peggy Sue last December. I got there early as only 100 copies were made. Dockers MC (AKA Laura Dockrill) came out to me and gave me the first book that she finished. We spoke and she even remembered me from the barfly last year and the Myspace message I sent saying that I was definately attending.

It was a spoken word night featuring other spoken word artists such as Luke Wright, Yanny Mac, John Osbourne and Claudia Grant.

This instore was one of the best instores I have been to this year. I met three people who I wanted to meet. These were Kate Nash (she did a short poem), Katy and Rosa from Peggy Sue and Laura Dockrill.

Sandi Thom @ Bush Hall 30th June 2008

Back when I saw Adele at Shepherd’s Bush Empire I wanted to get a ticket for Sandi Thom. I went to the Music House to get a ticket only to find out they don’t sell tickets.

So I ordered my ticket of the web. Well anyways this was a good gig Sandi sang songs from both her albums and I was right at the front. After the gig you could meet Sandi backstage to get photos and stuff signed.

Leave a Reply

