The Early Reviews: December 2008

Slow Club @ Union Chapel 1st December 2008

This was the third time that I visited the Chapel and this time I was seeing Slow Club. This was a brilliant Christmas show. Support came from Mayor Mcca, Lisa Milberg, Jay Jay Pistolet and Adem.

I was sitting right at the front and it was amazing. Jay Jay was joined by Marcus from Mumford and Sons on drums.

Well it was a amazing show. We all got lyrics for Let’s fall Back In Love and everyone sung it. Slow Club also sung the Xmas Song Christmas TV. When they went off they came back on for a encore and sung When I Go. They sung acoustically with no microphones.

XFM Winter Wonderland @ Brixton Academy 2nd December

After seeing Ladyhawke at Union Chapel I wanted to see her again. So a week before I decided to get a ticket for the XDM Winter Wonderland. It was a surprise as the Kaiser Chiefs were supporting.

Doors opened at 6PM and the running order was White Lies, Ladyhawke, Ida Maria, Iglu and Hartly, The Rifles and Kaiser Chiefs.

This gig over ran by 10 mins but seeing a full set by Ladyhawke, Ida Maria and Kaiser Chiefs it was a amazing night. It started getting rowdy when Iglu and Hartly were on. Well when the night ended I had a bruised rib amd a pulled muscle in my shoulder.

Kaiser Chiefs Set List:

01. Spanish Metal
02. Never Miss A Beat
03. Everyday I Love You Less And Less
04. Good Days Bad Days
05. You Want History
06. Ruby
07. Modern Way
08. Half The Truth
09. I Predict A Riot
10. The Angry Mob
11. Take My Temperature
12.Oh My God

Peggy Sue @ 12 Bar Club 11th December 2008

This gig was Peggy Sue’s launch of The First Aid EP. It was taking place at the 12 Bar Club in Soho. I got in for free as I was already inside before they started charging. I saw Katy, Rosa and Olly before and they said Hi. Well I really enjoyed the gig firstly supporting was Mechanical Bride a band who I heard nothing of but was going to by The Black Skeleton Sea EP when I was at Rough Trade when I was seeing The Clik Clik. I remember picking it up and debating whether to get it. In the end I put it back. And then it was rounded of by Peggy Sue. The set comprimised of Escargot, Once We Were Strangers, Pupils Blink, Lazurus, the Missy Elliott cover All In My Grill, Alice In The Kitchen which appeared on the October monthly CD, New Song, Clockwork, Eisenstein, new song Phillipe Petit which was for Alessi in the crowd then it was finished off with The Sea, The Sea. Both Laura Dockrill and Kate Nash were there and they wanted them to sing more songs. Well when the gig had finished I had a chat to Laura wished her a happy christmas as she was going away and I also wished Kate a happy christmas. I then left feeling happy as I had met Kate again. Outside I saw Rosa and Katy who both signed the EP. I wished them both a happy christmas and made my way home.

Emmy The Great @ Puregroove 16th December 2008

On the 16th December was my final instore at Puregroove for the year. I was seeing Emmy The Great. When I got there I purchased the vinyls Gabriel and We Almost Had A Baby. This instore was a really good instore. Support was from Younghusband and Pengilly’s (well only one member). The songs that Emmy did had a Christmas theme. Some of those songs were We Almost Had A Baby Emmy said at the end We Almost Had A Baby Jesus, Winchester, Easter Parade, and I think MIA, City Song. She also sang 2 Steps Forward. After I got my vinyls signed and I got a picture Emmy is such a nice person.

The A Sides @ The Lexington 23rd December 2008

My last gig of the year was The A Sides (Noah and the Whales side project. Well when I got up to London I stopped off at Puregroove to get the EP only to be told they had sold out. So afterwards I made my way up to The Lexington. I got off at Kings Cross and I didn’t realise how far it was from the station. Well I eventually got there and the doors opened at 7.45. I got upstairs and purchased the vinyl. I really enjoyed the support bands. After King Charles had finished the stage was set up for The A Sides. When they eventually came on the crowd were told The A Sides had split up and we were treated with The Chocolate Weather Report. The first song was Gotta Let Go. Charlie teased the crowd by ending the song then speaking then finishing off the song again with the line you gotta let go. The next song was a amazing cover of When A Man Loves A Woman. After the song Charlie announced The A Sides had performed. They then sang Setting Sun which was the last song. Doug, Urby and Tom needed to fill in when Charlie left the stage. Charlie then returned with some drumsticks. Well when the song had finally finished Charlie threw them into the crowd. A very kind girl gave me one of the drum sticks. So I snuck into the area where Charlie, Tom and Doug were chilling. They signed the EP under their A Sides alias and then the drumstick. I also met the manager of the band as well. Well I left the pub and met Urby outside. He signed the EP and drumstick for me. I then left and made the walk back to Kings Cross with the knowledge that being at that album launch was the best way to end 2008.

Leave a Reply

